Apple Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This is my goto apple dumpling recipe. The only change I make using brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
this is awesome my family and neighbors love it! I did omit the food coloring. otherwise followed recipe exactly. Thank you for sharing>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill David

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I did like the pastry.. but I wasn t very statisfied with anything else..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Excellent! Next time I might use smaller apples and let them bake a little longer, but the sauce was excellent. We served these with vanilla ice cream. My daughter was mad that I had never made apple dumplings before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Oh my! This is a very nice recipe but it is imperative that the dough is doubled! My apples are not that large, I even trimmed the bottoms off, but I still do not have near enough dough to cover the apples. I don't have time to make more dough, so I followed through with the recipe and will cross my fingers that they are edible. They smell delicious and I love the texture and work-ability of this dough. Will make again sometime but will double this dough. I only gave three stars due to the dough shortage problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
These dumplings are okay. They were a little dry though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These were really good. I even messed the dough up a little and ended up kinda piecing it onto the apple slices, but it still turned out great. We were worried that the syrup would make them too sweet, but they were perfect. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Very Disappointed! The crust of this recipe is not what I was looking for, or IMHO what anyone would want in a good apple dumpling recipe. Wouldn't even make a good pie crust in my opinion. Not flaky all, and not much taste either. I took other reviewer-advice and doubled the crust recipe and had to roll out really thin to get even that to cover 6 large fancy apples. I put this in a 9x13 glass dish, and the sauce amount was fine for the baking, but had NONE to spoon over the top or drizzle with at serving. I didn't care for the cinnamon mixture for the apples either, It wasn't sweet enough, and was almost bitter. We didn't even finish eating these. I've never done that with an apple dessert before, (it's hard to ruin any apple dessert) and I've been baking for a LONG time! I'll keep looking for a more delicate-crust dumpling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Marys, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
pretty good. pastry was really easy to work with, but next time i would make a little extra ... had to roll a little to thin to go over 6 really small green apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Thanks for this one! Despite the pastry being a tad delicate to work with (I'll use my mom's pie crust recipe next time), it was just like what I had in Pennsylvania Dutch country years ago. Been searching for something close ever since. Keeping this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKblumchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States