Apple Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I should have read more reviews before I made these. Although they were very good, the bottoms were soggy (which is why I gave it 4 stars). Next time, I will flip them half way through baking or wait to add the sauce until part way through baking. The sauce was a bit too sweet. Next time, I will use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbondale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Goodbye Bruster's. These are mmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I think this is a great recipe as is,made with the instructions and ingredients given, and really don't understand how others rate a recipe that they have completely changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISSIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This recipe is wonderful! I've served this at numerous potlucks and it's always a hit. And it's also become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
So. Yeah. These rule. I diced the apples, sprinkled them with brown sugar and cinnamon, and filled the dough "pockets" to the brim. I basted each pastry with butter, cooked for 20 minutes then flipped and basted again. I started the syrup on the stove, using 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar. I did not reduce the water. After allowing that to just simmer for about 15 minutes, I poured it over the pastries with about 10 minutes left. Just long enough to soak in. Served with vanilla ice cream, and pouring the remaining syrup over the whole lot - hol-eeee cow. SO yummy. Addendum to my original review: I made another batch of smaller dumplings - just halved the biscuits, put a heaping teaspoon of the apples inside, and did everything else the same way, including the 40 minutes. Delish, and they're awesome for the luncheon I have tomorrow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
These were good. I thought I would save time by using apple pie filling, but it was so slippery that the apple slices slid out the edges of the folds. I has so much trouble folding them in half that I ended up just topping the biscuits with the apples. Not exactly the recipe but good none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
These are the best. My family is always asking for them and they can smell them in the oven when they walk in and get all excited. Very easy and so so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ozawkie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I'm always worried that the apples won't be done when the dumplings are brown so I par-boil them first. I've been making this recipe since it was posted years ago and I love it. It's easy but looks fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This is a HUGE hit. I took it to a church function and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pontotoc, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Made as written, with the exception of dicing the apples... perhaps I did something wrong, but was not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States