Apple Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
These are great! I only use about 2 apples. I bake 10 mins on the first side, then flip and bake another 10 mins, then flip back to original side and THEN pour sauce over dumplings. That way they bake up crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Served these at work. Everyone wanted the recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portola Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This is a great recipe! I tried it with biscuit dough and with crescent rolls, both work well! I did cut up the apples into chunks, and sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar. I baked the dumplings for 10 minutes without the sauce, then poured on about 2/3 of the sauce and baked for another 25 minutes. They were beautiful. I poured some of the leftover sauce on top. These were not soggy at all, in fact they were just right! SO EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I followed the recommended modifications and these were so good. I chopped up my apples and tossed them with some brown sugar and cinnamon. I used half of a flaky layer biscuit per dumpling. I filled them as full as possible, baked them for 20 minutes, flipped, baked 20 minutes more and poured the sauce over the last 10 minutes. I think next time I will only use maybe 1/4 cup water though. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
All I can say is, "WOW!" I followed the reviews...and FABULOUS....will continue to make this recipe over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GessicaAbsi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I modified this recipe because there is no way it needs the amount of sugar called for. I think 1/2 cup of sugar would be more than enough added to water - mix to your desired consistency. Another change I made was to eliminate the butter all together and they were still great. I had chopped apples with cinnamon and sugar on them to put inside of the biscuit pockets and they made great little turnovers for breakfast. I will probably make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Easy recipe and they tasted great. I had some extra Puff Pastry dough lying around that was about to expire so we used it instead of the biscuits. They turned out great and it was a fantastic way to spend the afternoon with my teenagers. I can't wait to bake these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I made this over the weekend for my family and absolutely loved it!!! This was a very simple desert to make and it came out delicous! I also accompanied it with Apple Pie ice cream.....as it is in season right now. Yum!! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
These were superb!!!!!!. I did take some suggestions from others but overall an excellent recipe. The sauce was delicious. My entire family including my neighbors loved it. I have a ton of apples left from apple picking, so I intend to make this again and again this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Sinai, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I used flaky honey butter biscuits and rolled out as large as possible.(5").Added sugar and cinnamon to diced apples and put as much as possible (about 1/4 c./biscuit)on each biscuit. Because I put too many apples, I could not fold them up so I put another rolled out biscuit on top and sealed edges. Then baked 20 minutes, turned, baked 10 minutes then added butter,sugar sauce. Bake 10 more minutes. I reduced the water in butter sauce to about 1 T. as other reviewers suggested. These were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States