Apple Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
My family eats these dumplings until they're gone. I usually don't even get any before they're gone. As soon as Fall starts this is one of the first comfort goods I make. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stukndelco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Linwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
My family loves these! They don't last long & are always requested around the holidays. Easy to make and taste wonderful! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Awesome recipe! I used a half cup of brown sugar and a half cup of white sugar. I also cut the apples into smaller pieces and coated them in sugar and cinnamon before putting them in the dough. I didn't add the sauce about 5 minutes before they were supposed to come out of the oven. I also rotated the dumplings after 20 minutes and again after 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill and Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Easy, cheap, and DELISH. Followed the recipe almost exactly except for mixing in the cinammon with the melted butter instead of sprinkling on top. I only needed 2 Granny Smiths to make the recipe, and I used generic jumbo butter biscuits from the grocery store. No need to make it any more complicated. A favorite at home and with pals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
These are great! Very tasty. I couldn't stop eating them. The only thing I differently was I put some brown sugar on top of them before baking and used less white sugar. My mom just came back from Apple Hill (CA) and talked about an apple pie with brown sugar in the filling. This came out so good! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Compared to the complete homemade from scratch ones I have made in the past these are ok in a pinch but I thought just ok.They do get a little soggy on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Kapp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Seriously...incredible! I did modify some things but the basics are there. Sprinkled splenda and cinnamon on apples before wrapping them, cut back on water, flipped them 1/2 way through cooking and they were incredible. Used splenda and it tasted perfect! Great recipe for the kids to help you make them. My 3 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I didn't even have to flip these and they tasted amazing, not soggy at all. Best apple dish that I have ever had. Do make sure that the apples are cut into smaller chunks and toss them with cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleyD

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I took others advice and chopped the apples first then I sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar. I didn't have refrigerated biscuits so I made my own. They were a little difficult to flip but they tasted great. I did as others did and cooked for 20 minutes then flipped for the last 10 minutes. I added the sauce during those last 10 minutes. I limited the water as suggested by others but the consistency was to thick in my book. I think next time I will cut the butter a little and add just a little more water to thin it out( probably not the amount called for in the recipe though). I will say my husband loved them just as they were. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This is the best apple dumpling that I have ever tasted. My whole family loves them and I have made them so many times that I do not need to see the recipe at all. I do go along with other reviewers on the water, I only use 1/2 cup of water which makes a lovely syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States