Apple Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Compared to the complete homemade from scratch ones I have made in the past these are ok in a pinch but I thought just ok.They do get a little soggy on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Kapp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Seriously...incredible! I did modify some things but the basics are there. Sprinkled splenda and cinnamon on apples before wrapping them, cut back on water, flipped them 1/2 way through cooking and they were incredible. Used splenda and it tasted perfect! Great recipe for the kids to help you make them. My 3 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I didn't even have to flip these and they tasted amazing, not soggy at all. Best apple dish that I have ever had. Do make sure that the apples are cut into smaller chunks and toss them with cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleyD

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I took others advice and chopped the apples first then I sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar. I didn't have refrigerated biscuits so I made my own. They were a little difficult to flip but they tasted great. I did as others did and cooked for 20 minutes then flipped for the last 10 minutes. I added the sauce during those last 10 minutes. I limited the water as suggested by others but the consistency was to thick in my book. I think next time I will cut the butter a little and add just a little more water to thin it out( probably not the amount called for in the recipe though). I will say my husband loved them just as they were. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This is the best apple dumpling that I have ever tasted. My whole family loves them and I have made them so many times that I do not need to see the recipe at all. I do go along with other reviewers on the water, I only use 1/2 cup of water which makes a lovely syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
These are AWESOME!!!!! I had never made a apple dumpling before and when I seen all the reviews on this recipe I knew this was the one for me. I made a batch this morning and my husband has already requested more!! I am baking a batch as I type for my mom and dad. I know they will LOVE them too. Thanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brownsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I just do not understand how people can completely change the recipe and then give it 5 stars. Unless you make it as is, I don't think you should rate the recipe. I have made this recipe many times AS IS and we love it every time! It is perfectly sweet and the apples are yummy wrapped in biscuit dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Great recipe. I can never make enough of these to go around. The always run out and leave my guests wanting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I followed this recipe as directed without the advice of reviews... didn't turn out so well. Things shouldn't be so highly rated if they need major adjustments. They are SUPER sweet, the recipe tells you to use too many apples, and they turn out soggy if you add the sauce at the beginning. Probably would have been better with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCrowston

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This is the first recipe I've tried from your website (or any website) and these were delish! I read the reviews and changed the 'sauce' according to one of the reviews. I made 12 of these for Thanksgiving and none were left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junebug621

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States