Apple Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
These were okay. I diced up the apples as suggested and they smelled wonderful while cooking. I ended up throwing out the leftovers and no one really said anything about them. I don't think I would make them again and if I did I would change them around which in turn would make them a completley different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
im not a big apple person so i tried this recipe with peaches...it was A WONDERFUL AND NEW FAMILY FAVORITE!!! It made it even better that it was something i could make with my 3 yr old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was an awesome recipe. I thought it was more of a breakfast recipe, but on some of the reviews it said that it was really a dessert item. I think this had a really good sauce!!! When you're trying to figure out when biscuits are golden you can't really see in the oven because of the light so you will have to take it out of the oven to see it. If you take the dumplings out at the right time it will be crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. I think the cinnamon on top tasted great, but I don't think you need to measure it. I think it was one of my favorite sauces ever. This recipe is perfect for breakfast because it just the right amount of sweetness (I only put in 2/3 of a cup of sugar). Also, my biscuit container was smaller than you're suppose to put it in. In which case just cook it for about 20-30 min. This a great recipe. I will probably make this recipe again. (As written by my 10 yr old 'chef.')
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Delicious...diced the apples, coated them in cinnamon sugar, and then wrapped them in crescent rolls. Baked them for 25 minutes and the topped them with the sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I made this using the suggestions posted. I cubed the apples and sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar per my tastes. I baked at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. While the dumplings baked, I prepared the syrup. The syrup part: 1/4 cup water, 1/2 cup each of white and brown sugar, 1/2 cup butter and the 2 tsp of vanilla. I cooked the liquid on top of the stove over low heat and brought it to a boil. This helps to dissolve the sugar. After the 20 minutes baking time, I removed the dumplings from the oven and poured the syrup around the edges. I sprinkled a bit more cinnamon on top of the dumplings and returned them to the oven to bake another 13 minutes. Delicious! This is an easy recipe and one to take on a camping trip or vaction at the beach when I don't want to drag a whole lot of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ethel M. McMullen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These are awesome! My Mom made something similar when we visited her recently, so I came here looking for the recipe. So yummy, taste just like apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I just made these about an hour ago, and they were a hugee hit. They are absolutely fabulous. A+++++. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
My family LOVED these! I used Pillsbury Grands biscuits. I may try a sweeter pastry dough next time, but these were very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was so Yummy! It also got my husband's approval!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
ALL-TIME FAVORITE! I used butter-flavored Grands Biscuits. Sprinkle your sliced apples AND the biscuits with cinnamon/sugar. To avoid the "soggy bottom," I melted just enough butter to lightly cover the bottom of my baking dish and baked the dumplings (without the syrup) for about 20 minutes. Then, I poured 1/2 the syrup over the top of the dumplings and finished baking---about another 25 minutes. Use the remaining syrup to glaze the dumplings when they are done baking or save for serving time. When making the syrup, I used the hint to add-in just enough liquid (water, OJ, mountain dew) to achieve the desired consistency. These dumplings were picture perfect--tender, flavorful apples, sweet syrup and no soggy dough. Simply delicious and do not forget the ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States