Apple Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I kept all ingredients the same as instructed, except I sliced the apples as thin as I typically do for an apple pie. I read about reducing the water, and I'm glad I didn't! We made these last night and had leftovers for breakfast this morning, and I drizzled the "juices" over all the dumplings before microwaving! It was perfect! Simple and easy, I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jalon Faherty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Easy and delicious. I'm always asked for the recipe and people think I've spent a lot of time making these, when they're really quick. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
These dumplings rock! Everyone enjoyed them so much more than ones made with a pastry dough. You've got to serve these hot---right out of the oven. I spooned some of that lovely sauce from the bottom of the pan over the tops of the dumplings and served them with vanilla ice cream. Delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Absolutely wonderful recipe! My husband whose favorite dessert is peach or apple cobbler has declared this as its replacement. I have made these almost every weekend since we found this recipe. I too followed the recommendation of other reviewers: reduced water to 1/4 cup, cut apples in wedges before wrapping with dough and covered with cinnamon/sugar mixture. I used 1/2 jazz apples and 1/2 granny smith and found that while the flavor was the same with both the jazz apples maintained their shape better and the granny smith cooked down to almost nothing, but both were fabulous! Also I made 1/2 with crescent dough and 1/2 with ready made crusts and hands down everyone thought the ones with the crescent dough were better. I also added nutmeg before pouring on the sauce. The last time I made them I didn't bother peeling the apples and it didn't seem to make any difference. Do yourself a favor and make this dish...next time will try reducing the butter because I don't think it will affect the flavor that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Made these just like the recipe says, and they were delicious!!! My entire family enjoyed them. The only reviewer recommendation I followed was turning them with about 10 minutes of baking left. I'll make them again and I won't change a thing. I was a little nervous about how much liquid I poured into the dish, but it thickened nicely while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k-k-k-katie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Delish with some vanilla ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
When I started making this recipe everyone in my house went crazy over it. I paid for a phone line being installed by one of my friends. He wouldn't get out the car til he smelled them cooking. The best part is fighting over the corner instead of making them in a round dish. I serve them freash out the oven topped with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Mmm, this is now one of my favorite desserts!! I took the advice of other reviewers and waited for the dumplings to cook for a few minutes before pouring the sauce in a little at a time. And, I put cinnamon sugar on diced apples. I used Pillsbury Honey Butter biscuit dough instead of the regular, which made it even more scrumptious! Will definitely be using this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I LOVE this recipe!! Fairly easy to make and absolutely delicious!!! I have made a few changes based upon others' great ideas: I diced the apples and coated them with cinnamon/sugar. I baked the dumplings on one side for 20 minutes. I made up the sauce minus the water and had to add just a tablespoon or so to get it the right consistency. I also used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar and ended up with this beautiful caramel sauce. Then I turned the dumplings and baked for another 10 minutes. I added the sauce the last 10 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Moss
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Excellent flavors and quite easy. I made adjustments based on some reviews. Perhaps should have read more reviews as I diced up 3 apples (instead of the recommended halved 4 apples) and couldn't fit all the apple pieces into the biscuit dough. I tossed apple pieces with cinnamon sugar. Baked dumplings for about 15-20 minutes without sauce. I couldn't flip dumplings over as they were placed too closely together in baking dish and baked together making it difficult to flip dumplings over. Didn't add water to sauce but added leftover apple pieces so got liquid from that. Poured sauce (with leftover apples) over dumplings and cooked additional 15 minutes. The apples in the sauce were less cooked than the ones inside the dumplings due to less time in the oven. However, the family agreed it made for a nice combination to have some fully cooked apples and others slightly cooked so still a little firm. We actually had this for breakfast so didn't add ice cream. I do think I'll try baking with sauce from beginning next time to see what we think about that, or I might try a 9 x 13 dish and separate the dumplings more for initial baking if I chose to add sauce later. I will also probably up the cinnamon to at least 3/4 tsp as family loves cinnamon. Recently discovered Saigon cinnamon and very pleased with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States