Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Just ok,made it for a family gathering,no one cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was really good Amy. Does not have an overly sweet taste. I used motts apples. I would use Granny Smith or Red Delicious next time. (we did not care for the motts apples too soft and we needed to use them up). A good firm apple is best for this recipe. Was very good and definitely a keeper. Thanks Amy for the quick and easy recipe. Oh MY I am keeping my previous post in here but I had to say that Amy I had cut too many apples and had to mix up a 2nd batch. Everyone really loved the first one. But my youngest devoured the second one. He started picking at it bit by bit till nothing was left. This was in a 9/13 pan and he had it gone in a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I love this recipe. I gave it to so many friends and they all love it. I even made it for the staff at my Family Doctors Office. It is so easy and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I have apple trees and am always looking for new recipes to help me use the apples. This recipe is easy and delicious. The topping reminds me of snickerdoodle cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I made this quickly one night for our family meal at church - when my mother asked me for the recipe I knew it was "really" good. I did add about 1/3 cup of sugar, 1 Tbs. of cornstarch and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to the apples before putting them in the pan. Then I cut back on the cinnamon I put on the topping. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
So easy and very good. Going to make it again for Holidays. Marge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Not bad but not excellent. I, like others, used half the oil and half applesauce. Definitely more like cake topped apples than apple dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I made this twice in the same weekend because it got eaten up right away and both times it was quick to prepare and came out marvelously. It almost tastes like a sugar cookie mixed with apple and I like how there is no butter or Margarine. Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BRIHANNA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
We serve this regularly during the apple picking season!!! My husband and kids love it, and I find it is easier than alot of other apple crisp recipes. Delicous cold or warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIHANNA
Home Town: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This is a very good recipe. I used 13 apples (the equivalent to a 3-lb bag) and I think I'd add even more next time. I used the whole cup of oil and I think it was just fine and not oily. I would prefer the dough not to get as crunchy (like actual "dumplings"), but it was very tasty and I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking with Kel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States