Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I made this quickly one night for our family meal at church - when my mother asked me for the recipe I knew it was "really" good. I did add about 1/3 cup of sugar, 1 Tbs. of cornstarch and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to the apples before putting them in the pan. Then I cut back on the cinnamon I put on the topping. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
So easy and very good. Going to make it again for Holidays. Marge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Not bad but not excellent. I, like others, used half the oil and half applesauce. Definitely more like cake topped apples than apple dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I made this twice in the same weekend because it got eaten up right away and both times it was quick to prepare and came out marvelously. It almost tastes like a sugar cookie mixed with apple and I like how there is no butter or Margarine. Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BRIHANNA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
We serve this regularly during the apple picking season!!! My husband and kids love it, and I find it is easier than alot of other apple crisp recipes. Delicous cold or warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIHANNA
Home Town: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This is a very good recipe. I used 13 apples (the equivalent to a 3-lb bag) and I think I'd add even more next time. I used the whole cup of oil and I think it was just fine and not oily. I would prefer the dough not to get as crunchy (like actual "dumplings"), but it was very tasty and I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking with Kel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
A little heavy, a little on the greasy side, but taste was good. Will probably look for another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Very Good. I substituted oil for 1/2 c. applesauce & 1/2 c. butter. Also used 1 c. sugar & 1/2 c. splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Excellent recipe. I made two batches with 3 lbs of apples between them (just as good but I bet the full set of apples is even better). One I made with butter instead of oil and a tiny bit of apple sauce as well as 50% barley flour, it was rich and dense, quite nice. The second I made with almost all apple sauce and a tiny bit of butter with a light flour, it was fluffy and light and sweet. Both were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was really good, granted I did make a few changes. I used half whole wheat flour/half white flour, 1/2 cup of raw sugar (instead of 1 1/2 cups), 1/2 cup margarine and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce (in place of the oil), and spinkled about 1 tablespoon of raw sugar and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon over the apples before covering them with the batter, also. It's not very sweet (considering I used 1/3 of the sugar suggested), but that's just how we like it! I used organic Braeburn apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States