Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I loved the look of this recipe. My topping looked like tiny crumble pieces...not like the picture that is posted. It actually looked like something you'd buy at a bakery...beautiful! However, I only gave this 4 stars b/c I think something needs to be added to the apples. I added brown and white sugar, flour, cinnamon and lemon juice and it still wasn't a very sweet apple pie/crumble...it was a little bland. That said, my apples weren't naturally sweet, but even with sweet apples, I think some sugar and spices would enhance this recipe. All in all, I was pleased when I ate it with vanilla ice cream...and my guests liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEMINIBAKER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I would definately use 1/2 applesauce 1/2 vegatable oil next time. It was too oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I was skeptical to making this recipe because it was so simple, but once I did and tried it.. I LOVED IT. I did find that it was a bit too sweet, but that could be because of the apples I used. It's wonderful the next morning as well! DELICIOUS! Definatly a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jAMiE renee`

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Loved this in its original form, just added cinnamon and sugar to the raw apples. Tried the variation with the applesauce in the crust-while it was tasty-it just wasn't the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
My husband, who hates apple desserts has just declared this the best apple dessert he's ever had. And that's saying something! Following some other reviewers, I used half butter, half oil, and half brown sugar, half white. I also chopped the apples and tossed them with a little sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg before putting them in the pan. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellyjoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I love the simplicity of this dessert; served warm with whipped cream, it was a hit. I did decrease the oil to 1/2 cup and added 1/2 cup applesauce instead. I used 4 large Braeburn apples and tossed the slices with flour, sugar and cinnamon. Adding a little cinnamon to the dry ingredients helped too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Just ok,made it for a family gathering,no one cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was really good Amy. Does not have an overly sweet taste. I used motts apples. I would use Granny Smith or Red Delicious next time. (we did not care for the motts apples too soft and we needed to use them up). A good firm apple is best for this recipe. Was very good and definitely a keeper. Thanks Amy for the quick and easy recipe. Oh MY I am keeping my previous post in here but I had to say that Amy I had cut too many apples and had to mix up a 2nd batch. Everyone really loved the first one. But my youngest devoured the second one. He started picking at it bit by bit till nothing was left. This was in a 9/13 pan and he had it gone in a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I love this recipe. I gave it to so many friends and they all love it. I even made it for the staff at my Family Doctors Office. It is so easy and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I have apple trees and am always looking for new recipes to help me use the apples. This recipe is easy and delicious. The topping reminds me of snickerdoodle cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States