Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
We loved it. the only thing I did different was put brown sugar and cinnamon on the apples before putting the topping on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Norris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I made this cake today...it was delicious...the batter was little thick tht i added some milk to make it loose....nd next time whn i make this i will one more layer of apple in the middle....i think tht will add more taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Tried this because of the good reviews. OK on the first day but a little boring - needs something, maybe powdered sugar on top or nuts. I don't like to give anything but positive compliments and encouragement but felt I had to warn others. As I said, okay the first day but quickly deteriorates after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Jetson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
My daughter loved this. I would sprinkle cinnamon sugar on this. I think that would add a bit nicer touch than the straight cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Loved this! The only changes I made were to add some brown sugar on top of the apples and to top the batter with cinnamon sugar. Very good! Loved the apples, they were tender and sweet and the "dumpling" part was really tasty! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
No way. This was not good. I mean if you want some dry cake with apple on the bottom then this is it. I added brown sugar to the apples and nutmeg.It still was lacking. What a waste of my good apples!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
My husband and I just loved this cake. Goes great with vanilla ice cream! I made some tweaks. I only used 3/4 cup of canola oil. I poured a 1/4 tablespoon of melted butter and sprinkled brown sugar and cinnimon on the apples. I put a teaspoon of vanilla in the batter. Once the batter was on the apples I sprinkled brown sugar on top along with the cinnimon. It turned out great. I will be making it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I was always afraid to bake with apples. I don't know why. This was very easy and very delicious! Serve warm with vanilla ice cream. I won't be afraid to bake with apples again, and will be making this for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Yummy. Easy to make. Very versatile. This is excellent with breakfast too. I only used 1 cup of sugar. Still plenty sweet. I also substituted apple sauce for the oil. Still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Delicious and easy to make! I made a few changes ... sprinkle cinnamon and sugar on the apples after placing them in the pan. Use 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup apple sauce instead of the oil, and chop up some apple to add to the batter. This makes it very light and almost fluffy, with a lovely apple flavour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twilight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States