Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Cut recipe in half. My boyfriend and I aren't big eaters. Tossed apples with cinnamon and sugar as suggested by others. Topped with a little more sugar and cinnamon. Sprinkled some brown sugar and butter slivers on top before baking. Very good! Will make again. Good warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Root
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was delicious! I used Granny Smith apples so sprinkled brown sugar and cinnamon on them before I put the batter on top. I took it to our church potluck....small church....and came home with 2 servings! It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Root

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nappanee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Soulsbyville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This turned out really well. The topping has a nice crunch, it's very apple-y (I used Cortland apples), and I added a bit more cinnamon than called for. I also did not peel the apples, just washed really well and cut the apples by hand into relatively thick slices. I cut the slices with apple skin into quarters, so there wouldn't be long strands of apple skin--and that worked very well. I do hate throwing out the skins of fruits/vegetables when it can be avoided--especially when there's quite a bit of nutrition to be had there. It was moist, tasty, crunchy on top, very easy to make and did not require much cleanup. Who could ask for more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe is tasty minus the salt.....definitely could taste it. Maybe half the amount of salt would be plenty. Other than that it was enjoyed by many..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I used Empire, Mutsu, and Gala apples. For the flour I used 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour and 1 cup all-purpose flour. 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup vegetable oil. Also sprinkled a little nutmeg into the flour mixture. Quick, easy, & good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZamoraFamily

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emden, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is so delicious! I made a small pan the first time. So, 2 days later I made it again and just doubled it. I just used a variety of apples to mix it up a bit, and sprinkled cinnamon sugar on the apples before I poured on the batter, and even topped the batter with more cinnamon sugar before putting it in the oven. This is so good, it is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckyL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is an easy recipe, but I made some changes. Use 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce and 2 different apples for an extra flavor. I put butter pats on top with the cinnamon (Siagon). Wonderful! Thank You Amy S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I have made this several times, my family loves it. I have found that sprinkling a little sugar and cinnamon on the apples improves their taste a lot. I then cut about 1/4 c. sugar from the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I must say this was so easy and very good! I made it just like it said to and it turned out great! I came across this recipe about 9:30pm and was rubbing my belly at 10:30pm! LOL! My guy loved it but said it was too rich and so he needed a scoop of ice cream and a glass of milk! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States