Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Made this yesterday, for a senior luncheon. Used a bag of Macintosh (not very ripe!) as that's what was on hand. I did follow some reviewer's suggestions and coated the apples with Cinn Sugar. Also, for health reasons, I used 1/2cp canola + 1/2cp cinn apple sauce. Appearance-wise, this is Not a pretty cake and the topping was like spreading road tar! Thank goodness, it did receive good reviews. We served warm with maple walnut ice cream on top. This is a simple recipe that I Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
The cake was delicious. My only tweak was to rub the apples lightly in a mixture of cinnamon, sugar and nutmeg (which was also sprinkled on top of the cake before and after baking). Delicious! I would add a picture but it's pretty much gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Very delicious! I used half whole wheat pastry flour and would probably use all whole wheat pastry flour next time. I substituted rapadura for the sugar and for the vegetable oil used half coconut oil and half applesauce. Mixed the apples with a little cinnamon and dotted with butter. I mixed cinnamon and nutmeg right into the mix. Next time I make this, I would like to layer apples, mix, apples mix since it seemed the cake part on top was a little too thick. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I use this recipe if I have apples that need to be used up. I add chopped pecans to add a little more flavor & crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Great cake that is super moist and not overly sweet. Made this a few times. Use any type of apples except the bitter ones. No granny smith or such. Fuji apples are my preference but any others will do. Easy and delicious. The top will look bumpy but I serve with a dollop of cinnamon whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jlo
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Mine turned out like an apple crisp but none-the-less it was delicious. I did include other reviewer's suggestions (mixed the apple slices in cinnamon & brown sugar; cut in butter to the flour mixture). Thank you for the very tastey recipe. **** just made this again & this time I added a can of cherry pie filling over the fresh apple slices. It was a hit *again*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
It was good! It was just more cakey than what I thought it would be. Next time maybe I'll use more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Easy and delicious! I made it as I had everything on hand and needed a quick recipe. I used 1/2 cup of applesauce and reduced the oil by 1/2 cup. All the ladies loved it at the party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
very good I used splenda not sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tripoli, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Absolutely delish! Next time I will only cook for 30-35 minutes so the topping will not be as crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States