Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I love this cake! It was so delicious and my whole family loved it! The only thing I did differently was I added a bit of pumpkin pie spice to the cinnamon before putting it on the cake. Otherwise, it's perfect as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I have made this 3 times and everytime multiple people ask for the recipe! I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Made this last night. The topping is amazing! It tastes like snickerdoodle cookies. I tossed the apple slices with brown sugar, cinnamon and vanilla extract before putting them in the dish. Next time I think I'll add a little lemon juice too. Great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wishgirl10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Super easy and good. I am always looking for ways to use up apples. It seems like my boys constantly buy them at the grocery store and forget that we have them after a day or two. Then, it is up to me to find creative ways to use up 8 - 10 apples in a day. This cake was easy to make and delicious to eat. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Deeelishus! I , too changed the recipe a bit by using half applesauce and half oil as another reader suggested....then adding an extra teaspoon of cinnamon with the flour in the batter mix. I hate pealing apples, so I used an apple corer-pealer-slicer for that chore. Thanks for the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donswallace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Made this yesterday, for a senior luncheon. Used a bag of Macintosh (not very ripe!) as that's what was on hand. I did follow some reviewer's suggestions and coated the apples with Cinn Sugar. Also, for health reasons, I used 1/2cp canola + 1/2cp cinn apple sauce. Appearance-wise, this is Not a pretty cake and the topping was like spreading road tar! Thank goodness, it did receive good reviews. We served warm with maple walnut ice cream on top. This is a simple recipe that I Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
The cake was delicious. My only tweak was to rub the apples lightly in a mixture of cinnamon, sugar and nutmeg (which was also sprinkled on top of the cake before and after baking). Delicious! I would add a picture but it's pretty much gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Very delicious! I used half whole wheat pastry flour and would probably use all whole wheat pastry flour next time. I substituted rapadura for the sugar and for the vegetable oil used half coconut oil and half applesauce. Mixed the apples with a little cinnamon and dotted with butter. I mixed cinnamon and nutmeg right into the mix. Next time I make this, I would like to layer apples, mix, apples mix since it seemed the cake part on top was a little too thick. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I use this recipe if I have apples that need to be used up. I add chopped pecans to add a little more flavor & crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Great cake that is super moist and not overly sweet. Made this a few times. Use any type of apples except the bitter ones. No granny smith or such. Fuji apples are my preference but any others will do. Easy and delicious. The top will look bumpy but I serve with a dollop of cinnamon whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States