Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Josh Charlton Cornelius
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
What a nice recipe. This came out fine. I've added honey drizzle over the top after baking and served with whip cream with a pinch of cinnamon on the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh Charlton Cornelius

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Good fresh out of the oven but once cooled and settled, wasn't too good. I did use Granny Smith's and they were pretty sour. The good side of this recipe is that it is easy, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie_Luvs_2_cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Tried it twice and it's wonderful. Beats making pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This is great. It did not make it thru the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
all i gotta say is i love this dish so much it just completes me, my family always fought and now we love eachother because of this lovely dish. this dish inspired us to open our own bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Loved it! After reading other reviews, I sprinkled the (granny smith)apples with apple pie spice (no brown sugar added and glad I didn't as it was sweet enough)and where it calls for 1 cup of oil I replaced 1/2 cup of oil with applesauce. I think the cake topping would be amazing with other fruits as well (cherries, peaches, yummm). It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Used 1/2 applesauce, 1/2 oil. Added cinnamon and sugar to apples before putting on topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This was very tasty but I should have followed with other reviewers to put less oil. I thought I would choke on all that grease! I will put 1/2 cup butter next time without oil. Also apples were abit firm for my liking so I think next time I will bake the apples separately and then add the topping later. But very good in general
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This does not pour at all. I added some cinnamon to the batter and subbed applesauce for half the oil after reading the reviews. The cake part of this is very thick and had to be flattened into the apples. It tasted like flour anyway. I was disappointed after reading some of the reviews of how good it was. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I thought this was very good and from all the different reviews, you can tell it is very forgiving. I have a suggestion: Maybe all the variances have to do with the type apple and how thickly they are sliced. My favorite apples are Pink Lady and Honey Crisp, but I used one called Tango which was just okay, thinly sliced and layered. i did the thing with 1/2 apple sauce and 1/2 oil and mine was not the least bit greasy. In fact, I made a carmel sauce to squiggle across the top to make it sweeter and gooyer, but it would be good without it, in fact, it would be great for breakfast or brunch, so dont count it out if it doesnt fit your bill for a desert. I will be making it again, Im sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttkc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States