Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This is delicious! Made this last night as dessert for "Build-Your-Own'Sub" night, 5 kids (2 were kids' friends); 2 adults. I followed the previous reviewer MaMaDC and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on the apple before the batter. The house smelled heavenly; everyone kept asking what it was. I used 3 lbs of Macintosh apples. I think next time I'll use tablespoons to dollop the batter, as I made it first and it was thick. Didn't affect the taste, still wonderful. We didn't have ice cream or whipped topping, so we topped it with milk. Can't wait to try it with french vanilla ice cream! It's going into my recipe file for a regular in this house's menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schafer5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I made this as one of our Thanksgiving desserts today. It had a wonderful aroma while cooking and really lived up to its smell! I served it warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream - yummy! I did substitute one half cup of oil with applesauce and also sprinkled cinnamon and sugar over the apples before covering with batter. Such a warm, delicious dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I love apple dumplings and this recipe takes all the work out of making that but with the very same result. I left the peels on the Fuji apples and sprinkles some cinnamon on the apples prior to topping. It just added to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
This recipe is relatively easy to make. After preparing the apples, my 2 and a half year old helped me measure and mix the rest of the ingredients. She loved pressing the mix into the apples. The house smelled wonderful as it baked. Next time I will substitute some applesauce for half the oil because it seemed a bit greasy. It tastes similiar to apple crisp but not as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I was skeptical but this dessert is tops! All the flavors and textures blend together perfectly. A new favorite in my family. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
this was so easy to make even my young daughter has made it and i used a variety of fall apples and left the peels on...i urge anyone to try this especially if you arent handy in the kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Excellant. Doesn't look that attractive but tastes delicious. I would recommend using any mixture of apples, other than granny smith. When I used Granny Smith apples they were too tart for the dumpling cake topping and didn't soften up enough while baking. I also used only 1/2 of the oil called for and substituted applesauce for the other half. Tasted delcious and cut down on the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Excellent cake! My husband loved it - said it's a cross between a pie and a cake. I used a combination of Mutsu and Macintosh apples. Also sprinkled a mixture of 2 Tbsp. sugar and 1 tsp. cinnamon over the top before baking. Very tasty - I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This recipe was so easy to make! I couldn't believe that I actually made it. It's something that I would expect to get at a bakery. The ingrediants are so simple. I didn't have to go out to buy anything. It was just too easy to make and it tasted great...but a little greasy. I used 3/4 cup of oil instead of 1 cup and I also sprinkled a little cinnamon and brown sugar on the apples before I poured the mixture over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This is a very easy, yet delicious recipe. I cut the recipe in half & baked it in a 9" baking dish. The next time I make it, I won't cut it in half. It's also very good served warm with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States