Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
This recipe is relatively easy to make. After preparing the apples, my 2 and a half year old helped me measure and mix the rest of the ingredients. She loved pressing the mix into the apples. The house smelled wonderful as it baked. Next time I will substitute some applesauce for half the oil because it seemed a bit greasy. It tastes similiar to apple crisp but not as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I was skeptical but this dessert is tops! All the flavors and textures blend together perfectly. A new favorite in my family. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
this was so easy to make even my young daughter has made it and i used a variety of fall apples and left the peels on...i urge anyone to try this especially if you arent handy in the kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Excellant. Doesn't look that attractive but tastes delicious. I would recommend using any mixture of apples, other than granny smith. When I used Granny Smith apples they were too tart for the dumpling cake topping and didn't soften up enough while baking. I also used only 1/2 of the oil called for and substituted applesauce for the other half. Tasted delcious and cut down on the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Excellent cake! My husband loved it - said it's a cross between a pie and a cake. I used a combination of Mutsu and Macintosh apples. Also sprinkled a mixture of 2 Tbsp. sugar and 1 tsp. cinnamon over the top before baking. Very tasty - I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This recipe was so easy to make! I couldn't believe that I actually made it. It's something that I would expect to get at a bakery. The ingrediants are so simple. I didn't have to go out to buy anything. It was just too easy to make and it tasted great...but a little greasy. I used 3/4 cup of oil instead of 1 cup and I also sprinkled a little cinnamon and brown sugar on the apples before I poured the mixture over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This is a very easy, yet delicious recipe. I cut the recipe in half & baked it in a 9" baking dish. The next time I make it, I won't cut it in half. It's also very good served warm with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I made this recipe 3 times within a month over the holidays last year, and finally found this again on this site (I had forgotten what it was called!) This is an incredible dessert, and vanilla ice cream just makes it better. The pastry has so many textures within itself. A total delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieBlair1979

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
This is a very quick recipe, I didn't even peel the apples and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
I made this for Thanksgiving and it couldn't be easier. I was nervous about a cup of oil but I guess it works. I will try this again as we had so much food no one got around to eating it that day. My husband ended up with it the rest of the week and said it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States