Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
This recipe is a keeper, no question. I modified the recipe a bit. I placed on elayer of apple slices in the dish, topped with a mixture of brown and white sugar, then pats of butter. Another layer of apples, more sugar, butter, and so on, then the dough. TOO MUCH BUTTER! That's my own fault though, and I factored that in when rating the recipe. Next time I will make it to the letter, and mess with changes from then on. One more thing. I used both washington and mcintosh apples. The washington apples really took away from the recipe. They are bland. mcintosh are much better. More fruity tasting. Still, all 4 people that ate this recipe loved it, so it's a winner, and will go to my favorites box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
REALLY GOOD!!!!!! Used half (melted) butter and half oil for the oil portion and the flavor was excellent. Also sprinkled a little sugar and cinnamon on apples. Serve it warm with vanilla ice cream....heaven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This is indeed a wonderful recipe. I made it according to the instructions mostly, except I used butter for most of the oil. I reduced the fat by 1/4 cup with no ill effects. I also sprinkled the apples with sugar and cinnamon as suggested by a previous reviewer. When I make this recipe again, I probably will NOT use extra sugar. I think I would enjoy the contrast between tart apples and the sweet topping. I recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This was very easy and very tasty. I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top of the apples but otherwise followed the recipe. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
everyone loved it. its like apple pie without the fuss of making one. excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I was so excited to make this cake after all the great reviews, but it just didnt live up to my expectations. The cake part was good but the apples needed some cinammon and sugar on them. I think I'm a bigger fan of the traditional cake where you put the apples in the batter. I cut the oil to 3/4c. This recipe didnt taste bad, it just wasnt anything great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
Awesome reccipe ...Easy to make and taste just like a apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
L..ove this recipe. So easy, so simple to make. I used macintosh apples, because I like the sweet tart taste. [FILLED THE 9X13 DISH 3/4 FULL WITH THICK SLICES because of the settling of the apples cooking.] I did make a change to the liquid part of the recipe, because I do not use vegetable oil. I substituted 1/2 cup of melted Butter[1 stick] and added it to a 1/2 cup of Canola oil. It looked very oily, so I added 1/3 cup more of sifted flour, just enough so it was not sliding around the bowl, but still wet looking. I crumbled the wet dough on top of the apples and baked. The aroma was heavenly, and the topping was the most beautiful golden brown and flakey.[Forgot to pat down the batter]. We really enjoyed the taste and texture of this recipe. Thank you Amy S. for this "Recipe Box Keeper". PS. Apple Pie Spice added a nice touch to my apples for my second Apple Dumpling Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
My brother-in-law said it was better than apple pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This recipe is great! I made it exactly as directed and it turned out fabulous! Then I made it a second time and swapped out the oil for applesauce and it didn't turn out NEARLY as well. It still tasted okay, so for a low fat dessert it's possibly 3 stars. But the next time I make it, I'll follow the directions exactly. The topping was far better that way, and not at all greasy. Thanks for the recipe! It's a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States