Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This is indeed a wonderful recipe. I made it according to the instructions mostly, except I used butter for most of the oil. I reduced the fat by 1/4 cup with no ill effects. I also sprinkled the apples with sugar and cinnamon as suggested by a previous reviewer. When I make this recipe again, I probably will NOT use extra sugar. I think I would enjoy the contrast between tart apples and the sweet topping. I recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This was very easy and very tasty. I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top of the apples but otherwise followed the recipe. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
everyone loved it. its like apple pie without the fuss of making one. excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I was so excited to make this cake after all the great reviews, but it just didnt live up to my expectations. The cake part was good but the apples needed some cinammon and sugar on them. I think I'm a bigger fan of the traditional cake where you put the apples in the batter. I cut the oil to 3/4c. This recipe didnt taste bad, it just wasnt anything great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
Awesome reccipe ...Easy to make and taste just like a apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
L..ove this recipe. So easy, so simple to make. I used macintosh apples, because I like the sweet tart taste. [FILLED THE 9X13 DISH 3/4 FULL WITH THICK SLICES because of the settling of the apples cooking.] I did make a change to the liquid part of the recipe, because I do not use vegetable oil. I substituted 1/2 cup of melted Butter[1 stick] and added it to a 1/2 cup of Canola oil. It looked very oily, so I added 1/3 cup more of sifted flour, just enough so it was not sliding around the bowl, but still wet looking. I crumbled the wet dough on top of the apples and baked. The aroma was heavenly, and the topping was the most beautiful golden brown and flakey.[Forgot to pat down the batter]. We really enjoyed the taste and texture of this recipe. Thank you Amy S. for this "Recipe Box Keeper". PS. Apple Pie Spice added a nice touch to my apples for my second Apple Dumpling Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
My brother-in-law said it was better than apple pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This recipe is great! I made it exactly as directed and it turned out fabulous! Then I made it a second time and swapped out the oil for applesauce and it didn't turn out NEARLY as well. It still tasted okay, so for a low fat dessert it's possibly 3 stars. But the next time I make it, I'll follow the directions exactly. The topping was far better that way, and not at all greasy. Thanks for the recipe! It's a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This is really good! I followed others advice and sprinkled the apples with cinnamon and a bit of sugar and I reduced the oil to 1/4 cup and used 3/4 cup of applesauce to round out the cup. Very, very yummy with vanilla ice cream on top. I also just ate a bowl with milk on top and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
I was not too pleased with this. I think the oil made it too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States