Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Excellant. Doesn't look that attractive but tastes delicious. I would recommend using any mixture of apples, other than granny smith. When I used Granny Smith apples they were too tart for the dumpling cake topping and didn't soften up enough while baking. I also used only 1/2 of the oil called for and substituted applesauce for the other half. Tasted delcious and cut down on the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This recipe was so easy to make! I couldn't believe that I actually made it. It's something that I would expect to get at a bakery. The ingrediants are so simple. I didn't have to go out to buy anything. It was just too easy to make and it tasted great...but a little greasy. I used 3/4 cup of oil instead of 1 cup and I also sprinkled a little cinnamon and brown sugar on the apples before I poured the mixture over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I read the previous reviews and made it according to the recipe instructions. If I had been able to find organic Mac's, I would have left the peels on - but unfortunately could not find organic apples and peeled the apples. The recipe went together quickly. I used 1/2 cup applesauce, 1/2 cup oil and cooked it uncovered for 45 minutes. This could not have turned out any better! It came out just right - not too moist - and not overdone! Thank you so much for helping make my Christmas brunch a little brighter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
L..ove this recipe. So easy, so simple to make. I used macintosh apples, because I like the sweet tart taste. [FILLED THE 9X13 DISH 3/4 FULL WITH THICK SLICES because of the settling of the apples cooking.] I did make a change to the liquid part of the recipe, because I do not use vegetable oil. I substituted 1/2 cup of melted Butter[1 stick] and added it to a 1/2 cup of Canola oil. It looked very oily, so I added 1/3 cup more of sifted flour, just enough so it was not sliding around the bowl, but still wet looking. I crumbled the wet dough on top of the apples and baked. The aroma was heavenly, and the topping was the most beautiful golden brown and flakey.[Forgot to pat down the batter]. We really enjoyed the taste and texture of this recipe. Thank you Amy S. for this "Recipe Box Keeper". PS. Apple Pie Spice added a nice touch to my apples for my second Apple Dumpling Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
My husband loves this recipe..He has me make it at least once a week. I used half sugar half brown sugar. Added cin. and sugar to the apples and used half the oil..Wonderfull recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This was delicious! I also modified this recipe by using 1/2 canola 1/2 applesauce instead of 1 cup vegetable oil. I also tossed the apples with cinnamon, brown sugar and a litte white sugar as well as about a tablespoon of butter shavings before covering with the batter. This made the apples very moist and tender. I used 1/2 empire and half golden delicious apples. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ayanaya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
REALLY GOOD!!!!!! Used half (melted) butter and half oil for the oil portion and the flavor was excellent. Also sprinkled a little sugar and cinnamon on apples. Serve it warm with vanilla ice cream....heaven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Excellent cake! My husband loved it - said it's a cross between a pie and a cake. I used a combination of Mutsu and Macintosh apples. Also sprinkled a mixture of 2 Tbsp. sugar and 1 tsp. cinnamon over the top before baking. Very tasty - I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
This recipe is relatively easy to make. After preparing the apples, my 2 and a half year old helped me measure and mix the rest of the ingredients. She loved pressing the mix into the apples. The house smelled wonderful as it baked. Next time I will substitute some applesauce for half the oil because it seemed a bit greasy. It tastes similiar to apple crisp but not as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
This is a very quick recipe, I didn't even peel the apples and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States