Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
WONDERFUL!!! I gave 4 stars because I did adapt it a bit due to reviews. I mixed together a bit of sugar, a bit of flour, and a generous sprinkle of cinnamon then stirred up the apples in it, used a bit less sugar in the cake mix, and mixed a little sugar with the cinnamon for the topping. It reminds me a bit of snickerdoodles on top of apples, hubby says it's sort of like an apple coffee cake. I used apples I got at the farmers market, can't remember what type they are but they're definitely tart & firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This was really good however I really thought it was missing something. Maybe brown sugar? Next time I will make Apple Crisp in the crock pot as I think I like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This cake is simple and very tasty in an old-fashioned way. I made it with my two girls, ages 2 and 4. They were able to help with all of it after peeling and slicing the apples. The only thing I changed the second time around was not sprinkling the cinnamon on top before baking. It burned! Instead, I mixed it into the apple slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I was looking for something quick,I had a bunch of apples in the house and needed to do something with them and i came across this recipe.I followed everything to the recipe,The only thing that i did different was toss the apples in brown sugar,vanilla and cinammon and let them sit for about ten minutes before adding it to my baking pan...It make a difference.This was a family favorite and the have beena sking me to make it all the time now. The one negative about this recipe that i'm going to change when i make this again is the cup of oil was too much and it made the top a little too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Made this for my grandson, whole family loved it! Quick and easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I really like this recipe. The topping does not remind me much of apple dumpling dough, however; this is much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mertztown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Awesome....made as recipe.....no changes needed....:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Cut recipe in half. My boyfriend and I aren't big eaters. Tossed apples with cinnamon and sugar as suggested by others. Topped with a little more sugar and cinnamon. Sprinkled some brown sugar and butter slivers on top before baking. Very good! Will make again. Good warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Root
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was delicious! I used Granny Smith apples so sprinkled brown sugar and cinnamon on them before I put the batter on top. I took it to our church potluck....small church....and came home with 2 servings! It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Root

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nappanee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Soulsbyville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This turned out really well. The topping has a nice crunch, it's very apple-y (I used Cortland apples), and I added a bit more cinnamon than called for. I also did not peel the apples, just washed really well and cut the apples by hand into relatively thick slices. I cut the slices with apple skin into quarters, so there wouldn't be long strands of apple skin--and that worked very well. I do hate throwing out the skins of fruits/vegetables when it can be avoided--especially when there's quite a bit of nutrition to be had there. It was moist, tasty, crunchy on top, very easy to make and did not require much cleanup. Who could ask for more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States