Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This is really good! I followed others advice and sprinkled the apples with cinnamon and a bit of sugar and I reduced the oil to 1/4 cup and used 3/4 cup of applesauce to round out the cup. Very, very yummy with vanilla ice cream on top. I also just ate a bowl with milk on top and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
I was not too pleased with this. I think the oil made it too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
All of my guests were doubting they could eat any dessert after dinner, but each one ate a huge serving of this w/French Vanilla ice cream on top. I will definetely be making this again. As others suggested, I tossed the apples with sugar and cinnamon and used 3/4 C. Applesauce and just 1/4 C. Oil. It seemed a little dense to me, but everyone loved it. Ice cream is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
This is a very easy and tasty apple recipe. In order to make it low fat, I substituted egg whites for the whole eggs and 1 C apple sauce for the oil. It is still very good. I'll definitely be making this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayne City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
I did not try this, but judging by my fiance's lack of keeping his hands off the stuff, I'd say this recipe deserves 5 stars!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
I made this recipe for a family dinner. They have not stopped raving about it. They keep asking when I'm making it again. I put some cinnamon and sugar on the apples and used half applesauce and water so it wouldn't be to greasy. It was great. My family would rather have the apple dumpling cake instead of applte pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
Everyone at work praised this cake! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I just don't think this recipe was all that great. I used less oil and could still taste it. This recipe reminded me of my mother's apple upside-down cake which is why I tried it. I used Bakers Joy on the pan and then sprinkled the bottom of pan with cinnamon-sugar then put apples in and sprinkled the apples with it again. They were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
My husband loves this recipe..He has me make it at least once a week. I used half sugar half brown sugar. Added cin. and sugar to the apples and used half the oil..Wonderfull recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This is delicious! Made this last night as dessert for "Build-Your-Own'Sub" night, 5 kids (2 were kids' friends); 2 adults. I followed the previous reviewer MaMaDC and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on the apple before the batter. The house smelled heavenly; everyone kept asking what it was. I used 3 lbs of Macintosh apples. I think next time I'll use tablespoons to dollop the batter, as I made it first and it was thick. Didn't affect the taste, still wonderful. We didn't have ice cream or whipped topping, so we topped it with milk. Can't wait to try it with french vanilla ice cream! It's going into my recipe file for a regular in this house's menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schafer5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States