Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I was so excited to make this cake after all the great reviews, but it just didnt live up to my expectations. The cake part was good but the apples needed some cinammon and sugar on them. I think I'm a bigger fan of the traditional cake where you put the apples in the batter. I cut the oil to 3/4c. This recipe didnt taste bad, it just wasnt anything great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
Awesome reccipe ...Easy to make and taste just like a apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
L..ove this recipe. So easy, so simple to make. I used macintosh apples, because I like the sweet tart taste. [FILLED THE 9X13 DISH 3/4 FULL WITH THICK SLICES because of the settling of the apples cooking.] I did make a change to the liquid part of the recipe, because I do not use vegetable oil. I substituted 1/2 cup of melted Butter[1 stick] and added it to a 1/2 cup of Canola oil. It looked very oily, so I added 1/3 cup more of sifted flour, just enough so it was not sliding around the bowl, but still wet looking. I crumbled the wet dough on top of the apples and baked. The aroma was heavenly, and the topping was the most beautiful golden brown and flakey.[Forgot to pat down the batter]. We really enjoyed the taste and texture of this recipe. Thank you Amy S. for this "Recipe Box Keeper". PS. Apple Pie Spice added a nice touch to my apples for my second Apple Dumpling Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
My brother-in-law said it was better than apple pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This recipe is great! I made it exactly as directed and it turned out fabulous! Then I made it a second time and swapped out the oil for applesauce and it didn't turn out NEARLY as well. It still tasted okay, so for a low fat dessert it's possibly 3 stars. But the next time I make it, I'll follow the directions exactly. The topping was far better that way, and not at all greasy. Thanks for the recipe! It's a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This is really good! I followed others advice and sprinkled the apples with cinnamon and a bit of sugar and I reduced the oil to 1/4 cup and used 3/4 cup of applesauce to round out the cup. Very, very yummy with vanilla ice cream on top. I also just ate a bowl with milk on top and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
I was not too pleased with this. I think the oil made it too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
All of my guests were doubting they could eat any dessert after dinner, but each one ate a huge serving of this w/French Vanilla ice cream on top. I will definetely be making this again. As others suggested, I tossed the apples with sugar and cinnamon and used 3/4 C. Applesauce and just 1/4 C. Oil. It seemed a little dense to me, but everyone loved it. Ice cream is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
This is a very easy and tasty apple recipe. In order to make it low fat, I substituted egg whites for the whole eggs and 1 C apple sauce for the oil. It is still very good. I'll definitely be making this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayne City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
I did not try this, but judging by my fiance's lack of keeping his hands off the stuff, I'd say this recipe deserves 5 stars!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States