Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This was ok, not very pretty. I did follow the advicce of other reviewers as I usually do try to cut unneeded fats. I used half oil, half applesauce. I probably wont make again, I like apple crisp better and they take about the same amount of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This recipe was heavy, very oil tasting, didn't have much flavor and I would not make again. Waste of time and apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
It wasn't bad, I just was not crazy about the texture. I served it with ice cream when it was still warm and that seemed to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
This recipe is a keeper, no question. I modified the recipe a bit. I placed on elayer of apple slices in the dish, topped with a mixture of brown and white sugar, then pats of butter. Another layer of apples, more sugar, butter, and so on, then the dough. TOO MUCH BUTTER! That's my own fault though, and I factored that in when rating the recipe. Next time I will make it to the letter, and mess with changes from then on. One more thing. I used both washington and mcintosh apples. The washington apples really took away from the recipe. They are bland. mcintosh are much better. More fruity tasting. Still, all 4 people that ate this recipe loved it, so it's a winner, and will go to my favorites box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
REALLY GOOD!!!!!! Used half (melted) butter and half oil for the oil portion and the flavor was excellent. Also sprinkled a little sugar and cinnamon on apples. Serve it warm with vanilla ice cream....heaven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This is indeed a wonderful recipe. I made it according to the instructions mostly, except I used butter for most of the oil. I reduced the fat by 1/4 cup with no ill effects. I also sprinkled the apples with sugar and cinnamon as suggested by a previous reviewer. When I make this recipe again, I probably will NOT use extra sugar. I think I would enjoy the contrast between tart apples and the sweet topping. I recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This was very easy and very tasty. I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top of the apples but otherwise followed the recipe. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
everyone loved it. its like apple pie without the fuss of making one. excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I was so excited to make this cake after all the great reviews, but it just didnt live up to my expectations. The cake part was good but the apples needed some cinammon and sugar on them. I think I'm a bigger fan of the traditional cake where you put the apples in the batter. I cut the oil to 3/4c. This recipe didnt taste bad, it just wasnt anything great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
Awesome reccipe ...Easy to make and taste just like a apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States