Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This is a great recipe. I added apple pie spice to the apples and extra cinnamon to the batter. Then sprinkled with cinnamon sugar before baking. Everyone says it is a keeper. I also used all unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil. I may consider splenda in place of the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This was a wonderful way to make a dessert that seemed like you took all day to fuss over and in reality took little time. My husband who rarely eats sweets kept coming back for more! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This was easy and tasty. I added some vanilla to the dough, and sprinkled the top with cinnamon and raw sugar. Next time I will add cinnamon to the apples, and put a little bit of dough in between the layers of apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
FABULOUS! Everytime I make this cake I have to pass out the recipe! Great with Ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
My grandma used to make this cake and I have tried for years to duplicate it. We ate it upside down with milk on it. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gipsy, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cherry Tree, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This was ok, not very pretty. I did follow the advicce of other reviewers as I usually do try to cut unneeded fats. I used half oil, half applesauce. I probably wont make again, I like apple crisp better and they take about the same amount of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This recipe was heavy, very oil tasting, didn't have much flavor and I would not make again. Waste of time and apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
It wasn't bad, I just was not crazy about the texture. I served it with ice cream when it was still warm and that seemed to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
This recipe is a keeper, no question. I modified the recipe a bit. I placed on elayer of apple slices in the dish, topped with a mixture of brown and white sugar, then pats of butter. Another layer of apples, more sugar, butter, and so on, then the dough. TOO MUCH BUTTER! That's my own fault though, and I factored that in when rating the recipe. Next time I will make it to the letter, and mess with changes from then on. One more thing. I used both washington and mcintosh apples. The washington apples really took away from the recipe. They are bland. mcintosh are much better. More fruity tasting. Still, all 4 people that ate this recipe loved it, so it's a winner, and will go to my favorites box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
REALLY GOOD!!!!!! Used half (melted) butter and half oil for the oil portion and the flavor was excellent. Also sprinkled a little sugar and cinnamon on apples. Serve it warm with vanilla ice cream....heaven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States