Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Definite keeper! We didn't change a thing other than for using freshly ground whole wheat flour. We may decrease the sugar next time and try using butter instead of the oil, but didn't find any sort of oily taste as others had mentioned. My family felt it tasted like snickerdoodles over apples. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
My family loved this!! I added 1/2 cup butter (we don't like the oily taste at all) and a splash of milk. Sprinkled the apples with sugar and cinnamon before pouring the batter as others said. I was a BIT worried while baking this, some of the apples didn't remain at the bottom of the dish and had to bake it a lot longer. Then i thought it would turn out mushy.... well, it was worth all my suffering!!! it's very moist and tasty. I chose golden apples, but just try to use ripe fruit!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was delicious! My brother who hates sweets loved this and even had a second helping!! I did swith half the oil for unsweetened apple sauce as other reviewers suggested. I may add a little more cinnamon next time on top of the apples, but other than that this dish was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAH MACDONALD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
this was wonderful! i dident change anything apart from sprinkling cin and brown sugar on top of apples. yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buttonmoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chichester, Sussex, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This was delicious! I also modified this recipe by using 1/2 canola 1/2 applesauce instead of 1 cup vegetable oil. I also tossed the apples with cinnamon, brown sugar and a litte white sugar as well as about a tablespoon of butter shavings before covering with the batter. This made the apples very moist and tender. I used 1/2 empire and half golden delicious apples. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ayanaya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Love this recipe. Instead of the oil, I used 1/2 cup of butter and it worked great. I also put cinnamon and brown sugar on the apples before i put the cake topping on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I read the previous reviews and made it according to the recipe instructions. If I had been able to find organic Mac's, I would have left the peels on - but unfortunately could not find organic apples and peeled the apples. The recipe went together quickly. I used 1/2 cup applesauce, 1/2 cup oil and cooked it uncovered for 45 minutes. This could not have turned out any better! It came out just right - not too moist - and not overdone! Thank you so much for helping make my Christmas brunch a little brighter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I thought this was pretty good. I expected more of a doughy, dumpling-style consistency for the topping. I took out 1/4 cup of oil and didn't use any apple sauce so that probably had something to do with it. With all of the "oily" comments I was afraid to use a full cup. I made it really quick in a pinch for a dinner party so I wouldn't be surprised if I did something wrong. It was still very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was delicious, and so easy. I cut the recipe in half and in half again, since I was cooking for 2, and cooked it in a 1.5 qt casserole dish-- cooking time was about 30 minutes for me. I used 1 large apple, which I put in a baggie with sugar, brown sugar and cinnamon to coat, as suggested by previous reviewers. I substituted half the oil with applesauce. I did a layer of apples in the bottom of the dish, poured a little batter in, then did the rest. It came out terrific! Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim~In~Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States