Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Love this recipe. Instead of the oil, I used 1/2 cup of butter and it worked great. I also put cinnamon and brown sugar on the apples before i put the cake topping on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I read the previous reviews and made it according to the recipe instructions. If I had been able to find organic Mac's, I would have left the peels on - but unfortunately could not find organic apples and peeled the apples. The recipe went together quickly. I used 1/2 cup applesauce, 1/2 cup oil and cooked it uncovered for 45 minutes. This could not have turned out any better! It came out just right - not too moist - and not overdone! Thank you so much for helping make my Christmas brunch a little brighter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I thought this was pretty good. I expected more of a doughy, dumpling-style consistency for the topping. I took out 1/4 cup of oil and didn't use any apple sauce so that probably had something to do with it. With all of the "oily" comments I was afraid to use a full cup. I made it really quick in a pinch for a dinner party so I wouldn't be surprised if I did something wrong. It was still very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was delicious, and so easy. I cut the recipe in half and in half again, since I was cooking for 2, and cooked it in a 1.5 qt casserole dish-- cooking time was about 30 minutes for me. I used 1 large apple, which I put in a baggie with sugar, brown sugar and cinnamon to coat, as suggested by previous reviewers. I substituted half the oil with applesauce. I did a layer of apples in the bottom of the dish, poured a little batter in, then did the rest. It came out terrific! Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim~In~Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This is a great recipe. I added apple pie spice to the apples and extra cinnamon to the batter. Then sprinkled with cinnamon sugar before baking. Everyone says it is a keeper. I also used all unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil. I may consider splenda in place of the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This was a wonderful way to make a dessert that seemed like you took all day to fuss over and in reality took little time. My husband who rarely eats sweets kept coming back for more! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This was easy and tasty. I added some vanilla to the dough, and sprinkled the top with cinnamon and raw sugar. Next time I will add cinnamon to the apples, and put a little bit of dough in between the layers of apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
FABULOUS! Everytime I make this cake I have to pass out the recipe! Great with Ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
My grandma used to make this cake and I have tried for years to duplicate it. We ate it upside down with milk on it. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gipsy, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cherry Tree, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States