Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was one of the nicest, moist and tasty cakes I've ever made. I did substitute the oil for butter and apple sauce but otherwise followed the recipe fully. The cake was so flavoursome and looked great. It's very easy to make and only takes 40 minutes to cook! Definitley worthy of 5 starts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Penzance, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Hereford, Herefordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Will definitely fix again! My parents LOVED this when they came over one night. Not much time, so I whipped this up and poured a little carmel sauce over it!!! YUM! Cant beat the taste for the time involved, especially! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This is awesome. Everyone loved it. I find cooking it a little bit longer makes it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Excellent ---had a good crunch topping. I put a little apple pie spice with the apples. We ate it in a hurry. Good hot/warm and cold too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This cake was good, but not anything spectacular. I think the flour topping was definitely missing something. Do not eat this dish without a dollop of vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Definite keeper! We didn't change a thing other than for using freshly ground whole wheat flour. We may decrease the sugar next time and try using butter instead of the oil, but didn't find any sort of oily taste as others had mentioned. My family felt it tasted like snickerdoodles over apples. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
My family loved this!! I added 1/2 cup butter (we don't like the oily taste at all) and a splash of milk. Sprinkled the apples with sugar and cinnamon before pouring the batter as others said. I was a BIT worried while baking this, some of the apples didn't remain at the bottom of the dish and had to bake it a lot longer. Then i thought it would turn out mushy.... well, it was worth all my suffering!!! it's very moist and tasty. I chose golden apples, but just try to use ripe fruit!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was delicious! My brother who hates sweets loved this and even had a second helping!! I did swith half the oil for unsweetened apple sauce as other reviewers suggested. I may add a little more cinnamon next time on top of the apples, but other than that this dish was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAH MACDONALD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
this was wonderful! i dident change anything apart from sprinkling cin and brown sugar on top of apples. yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buttonmoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chichester, Sussex, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This was delicious! I also modified this recipe by using 1/2 canola 1/2 applesauce instead of 1 cup vegetable oil. I also tossed the apples with cinnamon, brown sugar and a litte white sugar as well as about a tablespoon of butter shavings before covering with the batter. This made the apples very moist and tender. I used 1/2 empire and half golden delicious apples. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ayanaya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States