Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This is a very good recipe. I used 13 apples (the equivalent to a 3-lb bag) and I think I'd add even more next time. I used the whole cup of oil and I think it was just fine and not oily. I would prefer the dough not to get as crunchy (like actual "dumplings"), but it was very tasty and I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking with Kel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
A little heavy, a little on the greasy side, but taste was good. Will probably look for another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Very Good. I substituted oil for 1/2 c. applesauce & 1/2 c. butter. Also used 1 c. sugar & 1/2 c. splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Excellent recipe. I made two batches with 3 lbs of apples between them (just as good but I bet the full set of apples is even better). One I made with butter instead of oil and a tiny bit of apple sauce as well as 50% barley flour, it was rich and dense, quite nice. The second I made with almost all apple sauce and a tiny bit of butter with a light flour, it was fluffy and light and sweet. Both were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was really good, granted I did make a few changes. I used half whole wheat flour/half white flour, 1/2 cup of raw sugar (instead of 1 1/2 cups), 1/2 cup margarine and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce (in place of the oil), and spinkled about 1 tablespoon of raw sugar and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon over the apples before covering them with the batter, also. It's not very sweet (considering I used 1/3 of the sugar suggested), but that's just how we like it! I used organic Braeburn apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was one of the nicest, moist and tasty cakes I've ever made. I did substitute the oil for butter and apple sauce but otherwise followed the recipe fully. The cake was so flavoursome and looked great. It's very easy to make and only takes 40 minutes to cook! Definitley worthy of 5 starts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Penzance, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Hereford, Herefordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Will definitely fix again! My parents LOVED this when they came over one night. Not much time, so I whipped this up and poured a little carmel sauce over it!!! YUM! Cant beat the taste for the time involved, especially! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This is awesome. Everyone loved it. I find cooking it a little bit longer makes it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karl Armstrong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Excellent ---had a good crunch topping. I put a little apple pie spice with the apples. We ate it in a hurry. Good hot/warm and cold too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This cake was good, but not anything spectacular. I think the flour topping was definitely missing something. Do not eat this dish without a dollop of vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States