Apple Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I made this with gluten free vanilla cake. I used fresh apples, walnuts, rasins and used diet ginger ale. It came out like French apple pie. And it met all my diet restrictions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Romani-Doyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
OMG!!!! This was sooooo good! I have heard of dump cakes before, but I didn't imagine they would be very good. I wanted something quick and sweet and found this recipe. I did, however, add some more spices and flavorings . I added a lot more butter on top of the apples and then on the cake mix. On top of the apples, I added cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, some sugar (1/4 cup), some brown sugar and about a tsp of vanilla. This stuff is the Devil!! It's just sooo good. We had it with some ice cream and it hit the sweet spot. I cannot keep this in my house otherwise, I will eat all of it all the time. Nice fall back recipe for those "want something sweet" moments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Made this a few times, used fresh apples and yellow cake mix. Great for a last minute dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I have tried other dump cakes this last week and couldnt for the life of me get them to turn out right. (I am new to cooking) I love apples and my family was getting tired of trying my experiments. I used 2 cans apple pie filling cuz I love apples and baked for a bit longer and it turned out great new family favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I mistakenly mixed all the ingredients together and it still turned out fantastic (just needed a little extra bake time). Yummo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! Will definitely be making this again! I did made a few minor changes, though. I used 2 cans of apple pie filling instead of one and yellow cake mix in lieu of the muffin mix. I mixed in some cinnamon with the apple pie filling and sprinkled a little more over the melted butter and cake mix. Also the 20 minute baking time was not enough time to brown it well. I baked it for almost an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Detmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Yum. I love that a dump cake is almost just that. Dump everything in the baking pan and shove it in the oven. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Good, fast and easy, like an apple crisp but no apples to peel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I just had blueberry mix and pie filling in the pantry and it rocked. It is more like a cobbler but great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This was so easy to make and delicious! I made the following changes: 1) Instead of mixing the apple pie filling with the cinnamon I spread the pie filling in the pan and sprinkled the cinnamon over it. 2) Instead of the muffin mix I used yellow cake mix (obviously dry - don't actually prepare the cake mix) 3) I cut the butter into thin pats and placed all over the top of the sprinkled cake mix. 4) I ended up baking for about 30 minutes Next time I would add another can of pie filling - 1 just wasn't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States