Apple Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This is like a super-easy apple crisp. It was fabulous and very easy. It is even better with plain yellow cake mix. Also I added oats once and it made it taste and look just like an old-fashioned apple crisp recipe! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Instead of using the cinnamon muffin box, I used the box of yellow cake. Turned out great! Cooked it for mother's day and was a hit! Recommend having vanilla ice cream and hot fudge on top. mmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This recipe is fine except for suggested cooking time. You'll need 45-60 minutes for cake to bake, not 20 as stated. While not gourmet, it is a simple and tasty dessert. There's an even better recipe using spice cake listed in same catagory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I just made this and man is it yummy! I did add a few things to it though...for instance..I used a cinnamon streusel quick bread mix. I mixed the "quick bread" using apple juice instead of water and apple sauce instead of oil. I poured it in a 9X9 pan over some fresh sliced apples, quick oats, cinnamon, butter and brown sugar. Baked it for about 40min and WOW! My house smells good too..BONUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I did use two cans of pie filling rather than just one. I also had to bake for 45 minutes rather than 20 as the recipe stated. Delicious late winter nite treat!! I will add oatmeal next time I try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
I cook an awfully lot, and I don't know what I could have done wrong, but this seemed like an incomplete recipe, and it didn't really turn out right at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
This recipe seems incomplete. I followed all 4 steps and I think something is missing. I came up with "apple goop". It seems that the recipe should say to mix the apple and cinnamon muffin mix according to package directions and then pour over apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This was so easy to make and delicious! I made the following changes: 1) Instead of mixing the apple pie filling with the cinnamon I spread the pie filling in the pan and sprinkled the cinnamon over it. 2) Instead of the muffin mix I used yellow cake mix (obviously dry - don't actually prepare the cake mix) 3) I cut the butter into thin pats and placed all over the top of the sprinkled cake mix. 4) I ended up baking for about 30 minutes Next time I would add another can of pie filling - 1 just wasn't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Very good, I changed it a little and used real apples and cinnamon and sugar. Had somewhat of a salty sweet taste to it. But the real apples made it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
Tasted GREAT. It was oh so sinful with vanilla ice cream on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States