Apple Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I made this with gluten free vanilla cake. I used fresh apples, walnuts, rasins and used diet ginger ale. It came out like French apple pie. And it met all my diet restrictions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Romani-Doyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
OMG!!!! This was sooooo good! I have heard of dump cakes before, but I didn't imagine they would be very good. I wanted something quick and sweet and found this recipe. I did, however, add some more spices and flavorings . I added a lot more butter on top of the apples and then on the cake mix. On top of the apples, I added cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, some sugar (1/4 cup), some brown sugar and about a tsp of vanilla. This stuff is the Devil!! It's just sooo good. We had it with some ice cream and it hit the sweet spot. I cannot keep this in my house otherwise, I will eat all of it all the time. Nice fall back recipe for those "want something sweet" moments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Made this a few times, used fresh apples and yellow cake mix. Great for a last minute dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I have tried other dump cakes this last week and couldnt for the life of me get them to turn out right. (I am new to cooking) I love apples and my family was getting tired of trying my experiments. I used 2 cans apple pie filling cuz I love apples and baked for a bit longer and it turned out great new family favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I mistakenly mixed all the ingredients together and it still turned out fantastic (just needed a little extra bake time). Yummo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! Will definitely be making this again! I did made a few minor changes, though. I used 2 cans of apple pie filling instead of one and yellow cake mix in lieu of the muffin mix. I mixed in some cinnamon with the apple pie filling and sprinkled a little more over the melted butter and cake mix. Also the 20 minute baking time was not enough time to brown it well. I baked it for almost an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Detmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Yum. I love that a dump cake is almost just that. Dump everything in the baking pan and shove it in the oven. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Good, fast and easy, like an apple crisp but no apples to peel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I just had blueberry mix and pie filling in the pantry and it rocked. It is more like a cobbler but great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This was so easy to make and delicious! I made the following changes: 1) Instead of mixing the apple pie filling with the cinnamon I spread the pie filling in the pan and sprinkled the cinnamon over it. 2) Instead of the muffin mix I used yellow cake mix (obviously dry - don't actually prepare the cake mix) 3) I cut the butter into thin pats and placed all over the top of the sprinkled cake mix. 4) I ended up baking for about 30 minutes Next time I would add another can of pie filling - 1 just wasn't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States