Apple Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This tasted really good but it turned out kind of runny. I was expecting it to be thicker. I guess maybe I didn't cook it long enough or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SincerelyAlice

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Juno Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I followed the recipe to the T, mine was horrible. Very mushy. I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This recipe is ok, but I recommend using only half a cake mix. Make sure to cook it long enough, or you'll end up with goo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
After reading the reviews and only using 3 ingredients I hoped this would be quick and tasty. I decided to use 1 can of fried apples with cinnamon instead of 2, and 1/2 half box of cake mix.. I decided to use a loaf pan and place some of the cake mix on the bottom of the dish. I then put in can of apples and topped with the rest of the cake mix. I drizzled the butter and juice from the apple can over the cake mix. I baked 35 minutes. Mine turned out very sweet. It may have been my choice of canned fried apples. Next time I will try an unsweeted canned apples or fresh apples in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
After reviewing everyone's comments I made this recipe with 5 fresh granny smith apples and 9 ounces of yellow cake mix (half of a box), 1 tbsp cinnamon and 2 tbsp sugar. I also used 3/4 cups butter. I baked it 35 minutes! It was absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
we love this recipe. I have adjusted it to fit our tastes- increased butter to 1 cup, and before sprinkling cake mix over apples, I sprinkle apples with about 1-2tbls. lemon juice(this makes the apples slightly tart- minimizes some of the sweetness)and also about 1 tsp. cinnamon. Then top off with cake mix and melted butter. I make this often for pot lucks and never have any left over. Hope this helps for those of you who are concerned about the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Loved it! Took this to a reunion and came home with 2 pieces left! Im not sure where the too sweet reviews come from...ours was just fine. I used 1 can of filling, butter yellow mix, and 1.5 sticks of butter. Next time I will make sure to have 2 cans! Do mix the butter into the cake mix first, it makes for a cakier tasting topping! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cairo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
made this tonight, but not with apples... used 1 can blueberry and 1 can strawberry filling, and butter yellow cake mix. came out great, but VERY owerpoweringly sweet. i cant think of a way to cut out the sweetness of it... but its good served warm over vanilla ice cream. i'll probably make it again, maybe find some lower sugar content filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mercerville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Okay, so it is a little sweet. And all the reviews are true. But its easy to make, and if done right, a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This was so easy and very fast! Crowd pleaser for any occasion! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States