Apple Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Well, I couldn't find the recipe I usually use, so looked for one to make Hubby something with apples. He was suggesting one that used the cake mix topping. I found this one and tried it right to the recipe, except I added a little oatmeal to the topping for extra flavor. I was not really happy with it, and won't make this one again. It was so sweet it made the roof of my mouth itch! Cut the brown sugar IN HALF and it might be a lot better. I used granny smiths too, so it wasn't sweet apples/sweet sugar situation. The topping got too hard as well. I attributed some of that to my adding some oatmeal, but still... it wasn't what I was after at all, and way way too sweet as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
So easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Greasy where the butter melted in, dry and gritty where the cake mix didn't get enough butter. Cloying and rich. I checked it at 28 mins, saw that it was not going to turn out and just stirred it all up. At least it was edible. Not doing it again - sticking to crumbles and bettys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Wowza! This is the easiest desert EVER. Its so good! My kids are gobbling it up as I type. About 1/2 way through the baking time, I pulled it out, and sprinkled water on the dry parts. Worked wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
My family really liked this and it was fast and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Yummy! I used the golden butter cake mix, and melted extra butter as per other reviewers suggestions. I mixed the cake mix and 1/2 cup butter in a separate bowl. Added more butter until it had a dough ball shape after mixing with my hands. Put the apples in the pan and then tore up the dough over them evenly. Put some apple pie seasoning on top and baked accordingly. Very yummy. I am going to try a variation next time with more cake mix, a little on the bottom and the rest on top. This would be awesome with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This dessert was a hit. I made one with spiced apples and yellow cake mix and one with regular apples and a spiced cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I make a similar recipe using a 20 oz can of cherry pie filling along with a 20 oz can of crushed pineapple or chunks. I also top with the butter just cut in small piece evenly spread over top (not necessary to melt prior) then add chopped pecans over top and press into cake mix. It is a huge hit every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking momma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Yummy but very sweet. Will try with fresh apples next time. May also be better with cinnamon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I used 1/2 cup of butter instead of the 1/4 cup, and I mixed it in the cake mix before I put it on top of the apple filling. It turned out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States