Apple Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was GREAT. I made my own "pie filling" with sliced organic Granny Smith apples that I cooked slightly in vanilla sugar water and thickened with a cornstarch slurry, then folded in almost two teaspoons of homemade apple pie spice. (I don't keep pie filling on hand.) I also used a low-sugar yellow cake mix. This was great at cleaning out one of the many boxed cake mixes in my pantry and made a semi-homemade dessert for my boys after a long, hard day. NOTE: I strongly suggest you make your own "filling" if you can. I used 6 medium sized apples and for the "juice", I used 1/4 cup water, 1 tablespoon lemon juice, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. If you cut the butter into thin slices and layer over the dry cake mix, it turns out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was really delicious. I like sweets so it wasn't too sweet for me/us. After reading the complaints about the mixture, I put the cake mix in a separate bowl and poured the melted butter into it, added some cinnamon, almond flavoring and mixed it until it was like a crumb topping. Super easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Well, I couldn't find the recipe I usually use, so looked for one to make Hubby something with apples. He was suggesting one that used the cake mix topping. I found this one and tried it right to the recipe, except I added a little oatmeal to the topping for extra flavor. I was not really happy with it, and won't make this one again. It was so sweet it made the roof of my mouth itch! Cut the brown sugar IN HALF and it might be a lot better. I used granny smiths too, so it wasn't sweet apples/sweet sugar situation. The topping got too hard as well. I attributed some of that to my adding some oatmeal, but still... it wasn't what I was after at all, and way way too sweet as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
So easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Greasy where the butter melted in, dry and gritty where the cake mix didn't get enough butter. Cloying and rich. I checked it at 28 mins, saw that it was not going to turn out and just stirred it all up. At least it was edible. Not doing it again - sticking to crumbles and bettys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Wowza! This is the easiest desert EVER. Its so good! My kids are gobbling it up as I type. About 1/2 way through the baking time, I pulled it out, and sprinkled water on the dry parts. Worked wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
My family really liked this and it was fast and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Yummy! I used the golden butter cake mix, and melted extra butter as per other reviewers suggestions. I mixed the cake mix and 1/2 cup butter in a separate bowl. Added more butter until it had a dough ball shape after mixing with my hands. Put the apples in the pan and then tore up the dough over them evenly. Put some apple pie seasoning on top and baked accordingly. Very yummy. I am going to try a variation next time with more cake mix, a little on the bottom and the rest on top. This would be awesome with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This dessert was a hit. I made one with spiced apples and yellow cake mix and one with regular apples and a spiced cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I make a similar recipe using a 20 oz can of cherry pie filling along with a 20 oz can of crushed pineapple or chunks. I also top with the butter just cut in small piece evenly spread over top (not necessary to melt prior) then add chopped pecans over top and press into cake mix. It is a huge hit every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Olson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States