Apple Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
LOVE This recipe! It brings back many memories me as a kid making this with my Mother! WE Used Apple,peach and cherry pie filling! Its Delicious and Super simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
After reading several negative reviews, I tried a twist. I sprinkled only 1/2 a box of cake onto the fruit. Also, instead of just apple pie filling, I mixed 1 apple and 1 strawberry pie filling together, put into bottom of the pan first. After drizzling the butter on top, I gently mixed the cake mix with the butter. I baked it for 40-45 minutes, and it came out wonderful! The top was crispy and yummy. My boys all loved it (got 3), so we will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Tunney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minier, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
My Mom made this alot back in the 70's. She never melted the butter. She would cut thin pats and lay over the top. Covered evenly as it melted. Very seldom were there any dry spots. It is very rich but so very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
oh...my....goodness. topped with whipped cream this is heavenly! The only change I made was to sprinkle cinnamon on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Super Easy! Super Quick! Super Frugal! Super Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Excellent! Next time, I'm going to try cherry filling with chocolate cake! Or maybe . . . WoW! Lots of possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Absolutely fabulous, and SO EASY! It's perfect for last minute dinner plans, and since there's nothing to mess up measurement wise, I even let my son help out! One thing I have modified- I mix the cake batter (I find Duncan Hines yellow batter best) and the butter ( I use a FAT half cup) together in a bowl with a large fork first, then sprinkle on top of the apples. It just suits our tastes better, and ensures no hard or burned topping spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I used 1/2 the cake mix and 1/2 cup butter. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eagle, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was GREAT. I made my own "pie filling" with sliced organic Granny Smith apples that I cooked slightly in vanilla sugar water and thickened with a cornstarch slurry, then folded in almost two teaspoons of homemade apple pie spice. (I don't keep pie filling on hand.) I also used a low-sugar yellow cake mix. This was great at cleaning out one of the many boxed cake mixes in my pantry and made a semi-homemade dessert for my boys after a long, hard day. NOTE: I strongly suggest you make your own "filling" if you can. I used 6 medium sized apples and for the "juice", I used 1/4 cup water, 1 tablespoon lemon juice, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. If you cut the butter into thin slices and layer over the dry cake mix, it turns out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was really delicious. I like sweets so it wasn't too sweet for me/us. After reading the complaints about the mixture, I put the cake mix in a separate bowl and poured the melted butter into it, added some cinnamon, almond flavoring and mixed it until it was like a crumb topping. Super easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States