Apple Danish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ayla
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
This was fantastic however, the dough was undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I'll admit I'm a bakery artist, but that had no effect on how totally awesome this tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
YUM! My husband was wanting something sweet on a whim, and I've had this recipe saved for a long time so I decided to finally make it. Very glad I did, it was just perfect. The only little change I made was to add a full teaspoon of cinnamon, because we really love the flavor. Other than that, this was spot on. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
It was delicious. A huge hit in our household. Next time we are going to make into turnover shapes and try to freeze a couple to see if they will freeze well. We also might play around with other fillings. Will definitely be making this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
So yummy!!!! I added chopped pecans to the filling and a little nutmeg and cinnamon to the dough and omitted the brown sugar from the dough. I live at high altitude so I also turned my oven up to 400 degrees and didn't need to cover it with foil, but I did check it at 10 minutes to see if I needed to. Definitely worth making again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsz85

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This was really good. I basically followed the recipe with a few minor changes. I used some extra yeast (closer to 2 t.) because my yeast was old, and also because of the old yeast, I extended the rise times. I sprinkled raisins over the apple filling before sealing it up. The browned butter glaze was really good--the browning really did add to the flavor. Just make sure you watch the browning butter carefully so it doesn't burn. If I make this again, I will leave it in another five or 10 minutes longer--I think it's a bit undercooked at 20, and you don't need to add the foil on top. One other change I would make is to reduce the salt, probably to a 1/2 teaspoon. I like salty, but the dough was a little too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Few things need to be add up. First, when preparing the filling, stir constantly because the sugar will burn. Then, it take more then an hour to prepare. They forgot the 15 min after you punch the dough and the 30-40 min after the dough is braided. Plus the time you wait for your oven to reach its temperature even if you do it in advance, we're talking here over 2 hours! Roll the dough bigger then 13x8. Maybe 13x13 as the filling will overflow and it won't stay as a nice braid. Or reduce the quantity of apples to 2 cups instead. Pros: the filling is fantastically good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
My family loved this Danish. The recipe was easy to make, although it was pretty time consuming, there is a lot of down time while you are waiting for the dough to raise throughout the recipe, this wasn't a set back though, I used the down time to do other things. It turned out great and my family absolutely loved it. One little note, I doubled the apple filling in mine only because I had 5 cups of chopped apples I needed to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martann Swope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Great recipe. This is my go-to danish recipe. I innovate with different fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsflyvt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
AWESOME! I've never made a Danish before but omg the flavor is so good. I added raisins but that is the only change I made, and that browned butter glaze is so right for this recipe. I don't think mine came out looking as beautiful as it should have but I will keep trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States