Apple Danish Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bmhavko
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I made it for a Christmas tea in a cupcake tin and mini cupcake tin. Most people went with the minis since there were several other choices. Wasn't sure how popping them out would go but it worked perfectly! I forgot about adding the slivered almonds before serving (I waited so they didn't get soggy as someone suggested) but I had added a crumble topping as someone else suggested and the almonds weren't too missed! My only complaint its I wished the cheesecake layer was a little thicker. Will try to make more of it next time. But it was delicious and I will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I'm not a fan of nuts so I omitted the nuts on top and used the crust from the Apple Cheesecake recipe on here. The apple topping looked better on this one but it was awesome. I took it to a Sunday School social and it was one of the most talked about deserts. I didn't have a springform pan so I used a deep dish pie dish and trippled the filling recipe for two pies. I thinly sliced the granny smith apples with the pampered chef apple peeler corer and cut the spiral into quarters making the apple prep super easy. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Poore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, West Virginia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I didn't like the almonds on top, didn't like that it was such a small amount of dough for the crust. I wish I had read the reviews before. It is still baking in the oven, I hope it turns out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I have made this cheesecake at least 15 times! It is a HUGE hit. The one thing I changed was I doubled up the filling and sometimes the crust. The thin layer it originally creates is just not enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I made this today along with my own Peach Cheese Cake. Your recipe inspired me to add nuts to my crust. Thanks for such a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CURTISLEE
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
First, as other reviewers have noted, the crust and filling need to be doubled. I made the recipe "as written," and can confirm that there isn't enough of either. Despite the filling problem, the flavor is exceptional. We used Honeycrisp apples, which is astoundingly good. There is one major problem with the way this recipe is written: It's not clear if the apples are added prior to baking and baked, as in a pie, or added *after* as a topping, like most *cheesecake* recipes. I didn't bake the apples and the recipe was still great, but may have been better, had they been baked (though that may have prevented the filling from being baked properly or on-time). With this issue addressed in the directions and with greater volume on the crust and filling, this recipe is probably a "5." FOLLOW UP: I made this a second time and increased the filling and crust. I also used the next largest spring-form pan and added one additional apple. With the additional ingredients, I had to increase baking time to 50 minutes. My neice said this is in the top five of best foods SHE'S EVER HAD. It was (past tense) pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This cheesecake is wonderful! I make it every year and always have people begging for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raechel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This cheesecake was pretty good! I used some of the helpful hints and made a couple additions to the original recipe. I doubled the crust which has an excellent flavor. I also doubled the cheesecake filling. That was a good because it made it a little thicker. I added a crumble topping and a little bit of almond glaze on top of the apples. I baked it for about 55 mins and it did need to be in the oven a little longer, but it was fine to eat. Overall it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I wanted something different from apple pie but like apple pie. And this was it. I used Grany Smith apples which gave a nice sweet and sour effect. I agree with other viewers, the cheesecake filling should needs to be doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Delicious! I didn't have almonds or almond extract on hand, so I just used an extra 1/2 cup flour and vanilla in the crust. I did not sprinkle almonds on top, either. It turned out GREAT and I don't think i will use almonds next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Tucker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States