Apple Danish Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
Really tasty, but I found the almonds were a little soggy after being refrigerated overnight. Try toasting them just before serving and sprinkling them on top of the cheescake as you serve it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
Very very tasty! I noticed the crust was alittle soggy when it was cooling but once it was refrigerated it hardened up! Will definitly make this more often. I added a strudel topping to give it that extra gourmet look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I only had 4ozs of cream cheese so i cut the recipe in half and becuase then it wouldn't fit in a pan i made it into tarts in a cupcake pan. Wow. they came out soooooooo good i loved them and almost cried when i came home to find out my grandma had given the rest away to a friend haha. wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CURTISLEE
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
First, as other reviewers have noted, the crust and filling need to be doubled. I made the recipe "as written," and can confirm that there isn't enough of either. Despite the filling problem, the flavor is exceptional. We used Honeycrisp apples, which is astoundingly good. There is one major problem with the way this recipe is written: It's not clear if the apples are added prior to baking and baked, as in a pie, or added *after* as a topping, like most *cheesecake* recipes. I didn't bake the apples and the recipe was still great, but may have been better, had they been baked (though that may have prevented the filling from being baked properly or on-time). With this issue addressed in the directions and with greater volume on the crust and filling, this recipe is probably a "5." FOLLOW UP: I made this a second time and increased the filling and crust. I also used the next largest spring-form pan and added one additional apple. With the additional ingredients, I had to increase baking time to 50 minutes. My neice said this is in the top five of best foods SHE'S EVER HAD. It was (past tense) pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Easy and soooo yummy. It was the first dish gone at a ladies meeting I took it to. Definately would make it again and maybe double the recipe for a 9 x 13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I wanted something different from apple pie but like apple pie. And this was it. I used Grany Smith apples which gave a nice sweet and sour effect. I agree with other viewers, the cheesecake filling should needs to be doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
This was a total hit! I liked the simplicity of the recipie a lot. I agree with the other reviews, I will increase the quantity for more crust (mine only made it partway up the side of the pan) and I think the addition of struedel topping would make this sensational.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I made this today along with my own Peach Cheese Cake. Your recipe inspired me to add nuts to my crust. Thanks for such a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This cheesecake was pretty good! I used some of the helpful hints and made a couple additions to the original recipe. I doubled the crust which has an excellent flavor. I also doubled the cheesecake filling. That was a good because it made it a little thicker. I added a crumble topping and a little bit of almond glaze on top of the apples. I baked it for about 55 mins and it did need to be in the oven a little longer, but it was fine to eat. Overall it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
I served this at a holiday gathering--it was a hit and a couple of people even asked for the recipe. I found that a 9" ceramic tart pan with 1 1/2" straight sides was a perfect size for this recipe. You don't even have to take it out of the pan but it would be advisable to run a knife around the sides right after it has baked. I didn't and it took a little chisling to get the pieces out! I used a combination of Wolf River and Macintosh apples and they cooked up well. I also elimated the almonds sprinkled on top for a smooth-textured dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States