Apple Crunch Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
The flavors of the pie were good, but even after letting the pie cool for a few hours, it never set and we couldn't even cut it into slices; it was a watery mess. I should have followed my instinct and added a bit of flour to the apple mixture. I used 6 Macintosh apples and that was still too many for the deep dish pie crust. If you try this pie, perhaps mix your pecans in with the crumb topping so they don't burn during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I was afraid there might have been too much butter in the topping, but it was perfect. I made two of these for pi day, one for the office and one for at home, and it was a huge hit in both places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
YUM!! This was a great apple pie recipe that was easy to modify to gluten free by just using a GF crust and GF oats. So delish with vanilla ice cream! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
very tasty recipe, but you need to add flour to apple mixture or it is to juicy and you have a soggy crust. i used 2 tbsp. also 8 apples is to variable i used 8 first time and it was way to much apple took to long to cook top had to be covered to stop burning second time i used 6 cups chopped apple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimpmwo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Assonet, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Great right out of the oven too yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Im not a huge apple pie fan but this is better than a tradional double crust pie! I used cortland apples... I also took a suggestion from someone else and melted about 20 caramels with about 2 tablespoons of half and half and drizzled it over top. Served with vanilla bean ice cream. Yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karisa
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This was so yummy, I ate it all by myself in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silsbee, Texas, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I havent made apple pie since i was a little girl and this time MY little girl and her friend helped ... it was a brilliant success! We had a great time and it turned out great... there were NO leftovers and we made two pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is tasty, but it is so similar to apple crisp I might just forgo the crust next time and have that instead. The recipe is really enough to fill 2 pie shells. I would definitely cover the entire top of the pie with tin foil for at least some of the baking time, so the bottom crust can bake through and not burn the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
awsome recipe, omitted nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mik

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States