Apple Crunch Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by terka
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
this just wasn't my favorite. not sure what it was about it but i didn't enjoy it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Excellent recipe! Great combination of tart and sweet. I've made it several times and it is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christie in Japan
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Great! Made as written except I didn't bother with the whole spiraling thing -- mixed the apples with cinnamon, flour, etc. and dumped them in the pie shell, jiggled a little, put on the crumble, and there was dessert! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Fort, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Fukuoka, Fukuoka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This was a great apple pie - the taste was perfect: tangy and just sweet enough. I must have sliced my apples a little too thin because the filling came out like applesauce (after all that work of spiraling them!) and I like a little stiffness to my apples so you can tell they are apple slices! The topping was great - beware to not pat it down too firmly or it becomes very hard. Can't wait to try the topping just crumbled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Apples were perfect and the top crust was delicious! Everyone raved at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I have made this pie for about 12 or so years. It was originally from a magazine. It is by far the best apple pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This a hit with my kids! Just tart enough and not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Wow. Great pie. Beautiful texture. Held it's shape perfectly when sliced. And it was delicious. This one is a keeper in my books.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This was my first attempt ever at baking an apple pie & it was a success. I did find the topping a little difficult to work with, it ended up being more a ball of mush than crumbly, I am sure this was inexperience but newer cooks should be aware of it. I added walnuts to the topping which was great. They are less bitter than pecans but gave it a wonderful crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I have made this pie twice now, and both times it came out fantastic. The first time I did not use all of the topping, nor did I pat it down, thus, it created a wonderfully crumbley texture for the top. The second time I patted it down and it made more like a crust. Both are great, just different effects. Everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States