Apple Crunch Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this for Christmas dinner and wanted to thank all my peeps on AllRecipes.com! Your reviews have NEVER steered me wrong. :) This pie was a hit with the MIL, SIL (who is super picky about her food...) and my husband (who hates apple pie, no joke). The recipe was great, I didn't modify it all, but I did jack put he temp to 400 the last 15 minutes to get those apples to fall down and the juices to get thicker and bubbly. Perfect. Won lots of compliments and preserved my cred. Thank you for posting it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Westie's Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
To die for apple pie! My 89 year old dad, who considers himself an apple pie expert, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
FANTASTIC!!!!!WAS A BIG HIT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I've been using All Recipes for years and years but just now created an account to rate this pie! O-M-G best apple pie I have ever had or made! The only thing I did different is I did not lower my over rack (because that scared me...afraid it would burn) and I added an extra TBSP of Flour to the apple mixture (because I hate a runny pie), but other than that followed it to a T and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I have made many apple pies in my time, but this recipe is 10 thumbs up. The topping is delicious, and with a few preference tweakings, I think this is the best apple pie ever! Also turns out pretty as a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Everyone Loves this pie & the crunchy topping. I used a regular pie crust, 5 apples & piled the apple filling higher in the middle. I patted about half of the topping down over the entire pie and put the rest on more by holding one hand along the edge of the pie to catch the crumbs that fell over the side while sprinkling the crumbs with the other hand. It cooked down and a bit of crust was pushed over the side of the pan. I didn't have granny smith apples so I used Braeburn. Any tart apple will work. I used a little more cinnamon (1/2 tsp or so) in the filling and added a bit of vanilla extract (1/2 - 1 tsp) to the filling. This pie held together really well after slicing when it was room temp. Even when I cut it early, though the piece I removed didn't look perfect, the filling stayed in place. Other apple pie recipes I've used have had filling that was too runny unless completely cooled. Tip: I couldn't find my pastry blender to cut the butter into the sugar mixture so I sliced the butter into pats (a cheese slicer with the wire & roller works great) and then just used my fingers to pinch the butter & sugar mixture until the butter was all pebble sized. Not all of the sugar mixture blends in with the butter, but the topping works nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Awesome recipe, just place foil over the top after baking the first 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Best apple pie recipe EVER! Made this for a party and everyone requested the recipe. The only change I made was using 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 brown sugar for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLFergie44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I reduced the amount of topping in half and thought that was plenty of crumble for the top of the pie. Just so you have a weight for the apples, 2 to 2 1/2 lbs of apples is a good amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Simply, Easy & Impressive! Saves you money because you only need 1 ready-made pie crust! So when I buy a 2 pack of ready-made pie crust I can make 2 pies since you only need 1 pie crust for the bottom of the pie & the topping is crumb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States