Apple Crunch Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lauren F.
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, and the pie was the hit at the dessert table at Thanksgiving this year. I thought it was a tad on the moist side, so I might cook it a couple minutes longer next time. However, my family loved it ooey gooey! I used Granny Smith apples, so it was very tart. I will definitely make this pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I made two apple pies this weekend from apples we picked, not Granny Smith. This pie was devoured!! The family was literally bidding on the last piece! The other pie was only half eaten. The only change I will make is this was a little too moist, I will bake it a little longer next time, which I was informed will be Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this for Christmas dinner and wanted to thank all my peeps on AllRecipes.com! Your reviews have NEVER steered me wrong. :) This pie was a hit with the MIL, SIL (who is super picky about her food...) and my husband (who hates apple pie, no joke). The recipe was great, I didn't modify it all, but I did jack put he temp to 400 the last 15 minutes to get those apples to fall down and the juices to get thicker and bubbly. Perfect. Won lots of compliments and preserved my cred. Thank you for posting it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Westie's Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
To die for apple pie! My 89 year old dad, who considers himself an apple pie expert, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
FANTASTIC!!!!!WAS A BIG HIT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I've been using All Recipes for years and years but just now created an account to rate this pie! O-M-G best apple pie I have ever had or made! The only thing I did different is I did not lower my over rack (because that scared me...afraid it would burn) and I added an extra TBSP of Flour to the apple mixture (because I hate a runny pie), but other than that followed it to a T and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I have made many apple pies in my time, but this recipe is 10 thumbs up. The topping is delicious, and with a few preference tweakings, I think this is the best apple pie ever! Also turns out pretty as a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Everyone Loves this pie & the crunchy topping. I used a regular pie crust, 5 apples & piled the apple filling higher in the middle. I patted about half of the topping down over the entire pie and put the rest on more by holding one hand along the edge of the pie to catch the crumbs that fell over the side while sprinkling the crumbs with the other hand. It cooked down and a bit of crust was pushed over the side of the pan. I didn't have granny smith apples so I used Braeburn. Any tart apple will work. I used a little more cinnamon (1/2 tsp or so) in the filling and added a bit of vanilla extract (1/2 - 1 tsp) to the filling. This pie held together really well after slicing when it was room temp. Even when I cut it early, though the piece I removed didn't look perfect, the filling stayed in place. Other apple pie recipes I've used have had filling that was too runny unless completely cooled. Tip: I couldn't find my pastry blender to cut the butter into the sugar mixture so I sliced the butter into pats (a cheese slicer with the wire & roller works great) and then just used my fingers to pinch the butter & sugar mixture until the butter was all pebble sized. Not all of the sugar mixture blends in with the butter, but the topping works nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Awesome recipe, just place foil over the top after baking the first 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Best apple pie recipe EVER! Made this for a party and everyone requested the recipe. The only change I made was using 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 brown sugar for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLFergie44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States