Apple Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
OH MY GOD is this pie DELICIOUS!!! I followed the suggestions of others, and did the following: (1) added about 1/4 cup of flour to the apple mixture to absorb apple juices; (2) instead of mixing apples with 1/2 cup white sugar, I used 1/4 white sugar and 1/4 brown sugar; (3) in a bowl, mix the apples and sugars and cinnamin before putting it in the pie (as opposed to sprinkling the sugar on top of the apples in the pie crust); (4) I used the basic flaky pie crust also on this website which was great; (5) i sprinkled some flavored walnuts on top of the pie with the crumb mixture; and (6) I cooked it at a lower temperature for an hour and 15 minutes. This pie was so delicious that i cannot wait to make it again. Everyone raved about it. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
814 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
This is the best apple pie I have ever made!! I started making it in September and by Thanksgiving I had family demanding it. This is not a pie that you'll have leftovers of (some people were even complaining because they didn't get a slice). These are a few things I have changed: I coat my apple slices in flour first. It makes the filling more jelly then runny (you will notice the flour will make a doughy type flim on the apples before you put them in the pie crust). Then I put a layer of apples, then coat them in sugar, then put another layer and coat, then one more layer (my apples are usually heaping by now) and last layer. I am VERY generous with my sugar. It makes it a bit sweeter but not too sweet. I don't change much, just I found if I don't coat my apple slices, the filling is really runny when it's finished, and if I don't put the extra sugar, the pie is a bit more tart. Enjoy the best apple pie around!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarkestStar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I made 2 of these pies with home grown granny smith apples. They turned out delicious and were SUPER easy! I took them to a dinner party and they were both gone in about 5 minutes!! It was a huge hit! People even told me it was the best apple pie they had ever had... Instead of layering the sugar on the apples, I mixed sugar, cinammon, nutmeg, lemon juice, and a little flour with the apple slices in a large bowl, coating the apples with the mixture. The combination made a good consistancy of filling. And be sure to cut the apple slices pretty thin--not more than 1/2 inch or so--it will help them get soft. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
SOO YUMMY!! I have been trying out all diff apple crisps and pies this apple picking season and this was a great recipe to use the apples on. I used a mix of fresh empire and gala apples from the orchard. For the sugar mix for the apples I did use 1/4 cup brown and 1/4 cup white sugar and 2 tbs flour then the cinnamon. I mixed the apples in that in a bowl before pouring into the crust. I did put a few pats of butter on top of the crust first and then on top of the apples once I poured them in. I also gave the apples a few squirts of vanilla as well. The crumbs I did 2/3 cup flour, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar, 1 tsp cinnamon, and 1 stick butter softened and mix with hand and made large crumbs to sprinkle all over-it makes the ultimate crumbs-I LOVE CRUMBS! I did bake at 400 for 30 min and noticed the crumbs were getting brown fast so I turned down to 350 and baked another 30 minutes placing a piece of foil over the top. I kept testing with my fork to make sure my apples were nice and soft inside. AND let me tell you with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream on top-I was in heaven eating this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This is a great base recipe! But for the apple filling I added 1/4 cup flour, used 1/4 cup brown and 1/4 cup white sugar and added a dash of nutmeg. I mixed the dry ingredients with the apples before placing the filling in the pie crust. This made for a EXCELLENT "creamier" pie filling. Wonderful crumble top. Used "I can't believe its not butter" on the crumble top and it turned out great. Thank you so much! I have made this 5 times (modified) and people I serve it to can't believe its not professionally made! Thank you thank you thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Delicious!!!! I did make a few changes...I mixed the apples into the sugar and cinnamon mixture instead of just sprinkling mixture over apples. I used a pie crust recipe called "Mom's Pie Crust" also found at Allrecipes. I used half of this crust to make top crust over pie, then sprinkled the top with cinnamon. Most of all I did NOT bake at 400 but rather at 325 which took about an hour but the crust was not burnt and the apples were cooked through out. The result.....a fabulous pie that my husband said was the best apple pie he'd ever tasted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
This is more of a 4.0 to 4.5 star recipe because it needs additional spices to make it work for me. I have made it twice now and this time I sliced the apple wedges much thinner (1/4 inch or less) and used 4 green tart apples. When baking for only 35 to 40 minutes the apple slices really need to be thin to be soft. I added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp allspice, and one sprinkle of cloves into the sugar and flour (2 Tbsp) mixture which I tossed with the apples. I was worried it would be too much spice when I sniffed it but after baking it was the perfect amount of spices. My husband said the spices added a lot of depth to the flavor and really liked it. I also dotted the apples with a paste of brown sugar, cinnamon and butter before putting the recipe's crumble topping on it. (The paste was a failed attempt at making the crumble with brown sugar and white sugar mixed). It turned out that the pie had pockets of brown sugar taste to it and my husband really liked those parts. He said if I could have mixed that throughout it would have been a really great pie. So next time I will mix melted butter with brown sugar in with the apples and spices before layering them in the pie crust. A friend came over and gave the pie an enthusiastic thumbs up. Wolfed down a slice in a couple minutes. Said she tasted the pockets of brown sugar and really liked it that way. I sent her home with another slice. Overall, a good recipe to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
Try this recipe with pears! It tastes even better than with apples because they are not as sweet, and so the sugar is not overwhelming.. i love the crumble topping.. and do add flour or cornstarch to the fruit before cooking so that the liquid makes a nice syrup and do add the sugar-cinnamon mixture in two installments instead of one on top.. mmmm :) ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Amazing stuff....yummy yummy yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnchandler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
The top is crispy/crunchy, the filling is not too sweet. Added brown sugar and cinnamon in addition to the stated ingredients for the topping for more flavor. A bit runny even though I added one teaspoon of cornstarch to the sugar and cinnamon mixture. Next time: add one teaspoon cornstarch and some flour to the filling mixture. Beware of cornstarchy taste. Also sprinkle sugar filling mixture half way into arranging apples and then sprinkle rest on top. Let pie set at least two hours before cutting into it. Use Granny apples and forget about the Rome. Good idea to use cinnamon on the topping as well. Okay to slice apple wedges thin. 4 big apples were plenty. ****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 711) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States