Apple Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This pie turned out great! I did make a few changes. 1) didn't peel the apples 2) used fuji, honey crisp, and crispy pink apples 3) used 1/4 white and 1/4 golden brown sugar in apple mix 4) did half brown sugar and half white sugar in the 1/3 cup of sugar used in the crumb mix 5) added a 1/4 cup of flour to the apple mix 6) added a large handful of oats to the crumb mix. This pie was amazing and everyone who ate it at our Labor Day shin-dig loved it! I will definitely be making this pie for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I agree with previous raters, add the flour in with the apples and use at least 50% brown sugar. Otherwise, this is a very good recipe. It is a keeper! I like to use a variety of apples with differing amounts of sweetness/tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I had never attempted pie before and this turned out wonderfully! Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Whelan Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I took this to dinner and the 6 people (including myself) loved it. Apple Pie is such a simple thing but done well can be amazing! I used all the suggestions from the first reviewer and they were spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danielleincanada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was an excellent pie. I followed others advice about stirring together the apples with the flour and sugar. I used half brown and half white sugar. I used a variety of different apples, some sweet, some tart, and added caramel bits to the filling. It won best-tasting pie at our PI contest! It slices beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I made it exactly the way it says and it was a success at thanksgiving!!! LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Easy and tastes better than Mrs. Smith's. Crusty topping! Excellent dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
So easy to make and a great Valentine's treat besides chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Excellent! I learned my lesson about adjusting recipes before I have even tried them. Based on many reviews I decided to add about 3 tablespoons of flour. I also baked at 400 for 15 minutes, then dropped the temp to 350 and loosely laid some foil over the top when I thought it was getting too brown. Thank you LEHOUX! My family thinks I am so cool, haha ha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Is the crumb the top crust or do i put that over the top of the pie?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 745) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States