Apple Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Loved it! The pies were absolutely delicious, especially with big dollops of vanilla ice cream on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mramey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I've made plenty of pies in my life, but for some reason I never tried to make apple. This one looked like the perfect 'introductory' recipe. Boy, was it ever! It could not have been easier to assemble and it was delicious. I took some advice from the prior reviews and mixed the sugar/cinnamon mixture (along with an extra 1/4 c. of flour) with the sliced apples (Granny Smith, natch) before pouring into the shell. Two adults and one 2nd grader finished the pie in two days. Truth be told, it was intended for my neighbor in order to return her pie dish, but she wasn't home when I went to deliver. Lucky us! She did eventually get her dish back (with a pie and a copy of the recipe, lol) and I had to tell her about the fate of my first attempt. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Added 1/4 cup flour to apples and used half white and half brown sugar on the apples. Otherwise, made as stated using a no roll piecrust. Wonderful results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Delicious! Used brown sugar instead. I did coat the apples and then dip in sugar, but I needed to use more flour since it was runny. Next time I will try baking the apples first a little to get rid of the juice and then precede with recipe. Yumm! Can do without the crust as well for an apple crisp with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Crumble was lacking something....even though I added some cinnamon. I also did as other reviewers and added some flour, white and brown sugar with the cinnamon to the apples and tossed together before putting them in the pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving . Tastes good, but way too juicy. I dusted the apples with flour, but the crust was doughy because of all the juice. Don't know if I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This had been my got apple pie recipe for years. I follow recipe to a T and have never had any problems. Key to good pie is good apples sliced thin. I have a peeler corer slicer which does all the work! I also use recipe to make apple pie tarts. I increase recipe to serve 12 then divide in to the tart forms. Awesome! Great for bake sales or when individual servings needed and want a change from cupcakes or brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Degnan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Absolutely loved this recipe. First time making an apple pie and this turned out fantastic! I made it a few more times and just baked at a lower temperture for a longer time,and sliced the apples thinner which made the filling softer. Great and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
My husband and I decided out of the blue to bake a pie....for the 1st time!! We used pillsbury ready made crust and Cortland apples!! I looked at other reviews and floured the apples and used brown sugar w/ the cinnamon to sprinkle over the apples!!! Also cooked at 375 for 50 min. It was AMAZING.....taste, look and texture!!! I'm soooo impressed with us - thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
My pies are in the oven right now! Hopefully they turn out amazing. The first pie I followed the recipe exactly and my crumble turned out more like a dough :/ the second pie I added brown sugar and extra flour and it came out, well crumblier! cant wait to taste test the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 735) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States