Apple Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
One of my favorite pies to make is a French apple pie. When I saw this recipe it looked like a simpler version of that. I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I didn't care for is the bottom was kind of liquidy, making it a little difficult to get the slices to hold shape, and it was a quite a bit sweeter than the one I usually make from an old Betty Crocker cookbook. I think this pie would probably be best with a homemade crust, but I wanted to use a deep dish pie crust though I had in the freezer. I will stick with my stand by recipe, and hopefully this will all be eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
yum - cook time was perfect - i used granny smith and made the recipe as is - was perfect amount of sweetness - the next time i added more cinnamon/allspice and jazzed up my topping a bit - delicious and EASY as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Rod loves. easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Dawn
Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I loved it, but others found it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Fantastic recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moxie & mirth
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Easy, delicious. I halved the sugar in the apple mixture because I had sweeter apples to use (and used brown sugar for added flavor), and I mixed in a little flour and cornstarch because I like thick gooeyness in my apple pies. This was so easy to put together, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I having been using this recipe for a while! This only thing I changed; When slicing apples, reserve them in a bowl of water. When all the apples are sliced, drain the apple and set them back in to the bowl. Mix the cinnamon and sugar into the apples and piece them into the pie shell. At the bottom of the used bowl, you should notice some residue of sugar, cinnamon, and water. Pour this mixture over the apple before the crumble. It makes a delicious glaze! TIP: Brush the shell with melted butter or margarine before putting the apples in. It prevents the shell from becoming soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
My boyfriend and I picked apples to make into a pie. However we realized we had no measuring cups. This was very simple to eyeball and tasted delicious as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was awesome. I can't see why anyone would rate it less than 5 stars. I made some changes, but I think if made as writen it would still be good. My changes : 1 1/4 tsp of cinnamonm, 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and 1/4 allspice. I also mixed the apple and spices in a bowl and added 2 tbsp of flour to the apples to thicken. I've made twice. Once to test and once for company - and I'm sure it will be made a few more times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
love this recipe. So easy to make and great when you have unexpected company coming over and need to make something quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 746) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States