Apple Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I, too, made this for my boyfriend and his buddies and it was a huge hit! I was really pleased with how great it was, especially with so little effort required. I followed the great suggestions of other reviewers, which BUONICONTO kindly put together in one review, and also added rolled oats to the crumble. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
made pies for Christmas, were delicious but used a topping from another recipe. I used granny smith apples ... next time I would decrease the sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I have to give this recipe 2 stars unfortunately , it had good flavour but was extremly runny , I followed the recipe to a "T" . I would make it again , but would probably adjust the recipe abit so it wouldnt be as runny .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY71

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Excellent! Followed tips from reviews: used 1/4 c white and 1/4 c brown sugar, mixed with cinnamon and added 1/4 c flour to mix with apples and then poured in the pie crust. Baked at 400 for 10 minutes then t 350 for another 30. I did need to cover the edges for they started to burn. M husband says it is the best apple pie he's ever had (and both our moms bake delicious apple pies!)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
made this for Thanksgiving desert...was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This pie is amazing. My husband is an apple pie aficionado, and he said this is his new favorite recipe. I took the advice of other reviewers and substituted half brown sugar for the white sugars. I also added 3 tbs of flour to the sugar/cinnamon mixture (which i mixed in a bowl with the apples instead of sprinkling on top) which kept the pie from being runny. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Great recipe, have made 4 of these pies now. Granny smiths work well. Added 1-2 T flour, lemon juice to apples and mixed this and sugar/ spices with apples. Decreased sugar by about 1/2 in this part. For the topping, it makes a lot so I decreased everything by 1/3 and it's just right. Also, I baked for an hr as some reviewers suggested but the apples were too mushy. So I'd recommend following the recipe on oven temp and cooking time. This will be my go-to apple pie recipe going forward; the presentation is very nice and people are surprised that it's home made rather than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edwardsville IL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This pie turned out extremely delicious with just a couple of small additions. I added a little bit of brown sugar to both the apple mixture and the crumb topping. Added some cinnamon and nutmeg to the apples. And added a little bit of flour to the apple mixture, only because the first time I made the pie, it was a tad runny because of the apples I used (empires). With those changes, absolutely fantastic pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda h.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
It's pretty easy and good! It takes 5 apples for 5 cups. I also mixed sugar-cinnamon mixture with apples...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Oh my goodness... DELICIOUS!!!! Thank you!! I only made a few insignificant changes in my opinion. I always add more cinnamon, so I probably doubled that! I added 1 tablespoon of flour to that seasoning as well just b/c I didn't want to risk the chance of the pie filling to be too runny (based off past reviews) I mixed the apples w/ the seasoning prior to putting it into the crust. And my last change was purley b/c I heated the butter a little too much since it wasn't soft enough to cream w/ the sugar when I was ready for it... so I added equal amounts of flour, white sugar, and also brown sugar to the butter after it was too soft so it became crumbly vs creamy... I'm glad that happened b/c we LOVED the crumble topping and the fact that there was a lot more than usual was a big plus!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States