Apple Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
made this for Thanksgiving desert...was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This pie is amazing. My husband is an apple pie aficionado, and he said this is his new favorite recipe. I took the advice of other reviewers and substituted half brown sugar for the white sugars. I also added 3 tbs of flour to the sugar/cinnamon mixture (which i mixed in a bowl with the apples instead of sprinkling on top) which kept the pie from being runny. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Great recipe, have made 4 of these pies now. Granny smiths work well. Added 1-2 T flour, lemon juice to apples and mixed this and sugar/ spices with apples. Decreased sugar by about 1/2 in this part. For the topping, it makes a lot so I decreased everything by 1/3 and it's just right. Also, I baked for an hr as some reviewers suggested but the apples were too mushy. So I'd recommend following the recipe on oven temp and cooking time. This will be my go-to apple pie recipe going forward; the presentation is very nice and people are surprised that it's home made rather than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This pie turned out extremely delicious with just a couple of small additions. I added a little bit of brown sugar to both the apple mixture and the crumb topping. Added some cinnamon and nutmeg to the apples. And added a little bit of flour to the apple mixture, only because the first time I made the pie, it was a tad runny because of the apples I used (empires). With those changes, absolutely fantastic pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda h.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
It's pretty easy and good! It takes 5 apples for 5 cups. I also mixed sugar-cinnamon mixture with apples...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Oh my goodness... DELICIOUS!!!! Thank you!! I only made a few insignificant changes in my opinion. I always add more cinnamon, so I probably doubled that! I added 1 tablespoon of flour to that seasoning as well just b/c I didn't want to risk the chance of the pie filling to be too runny (based off past reviews) I mixed the apples w/ the seasoning prior to putting it into the crust. And my last change was purley b/c I heated the butter a little too much since it wasn't soft enough to cream w/ the sugar when I was ready for it... so I added equal amounts of flour, white sugar, and also brown sugar to the butter after it was too soft so it became crumbly vs creamy... I'm glad that happened b/c we LOVED the crumble topping and the fact that there was a lot more than usual was a big plus!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Love this recipe! I first made this last Thanksgiving and it has been requested over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was my first time making an apple pie. It was so easy, and on Thanksgiving, it was the first pie to go! I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I read the reviews and made this with white and brown sugar and dusted the apples with flour and nutmeg in addition, to the cinnamon. Truly delicious! And I used a whole stick of butter in the crumble topping- truly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Very nice and easy apple pie recipe. I followed other reviewer suggestions and mixed 1/4 cup of brown with 1/4 cup of white sugar with couple of tbpns of flour and mixed with apples before putting in pie crust, and I added 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts & 1/2 tspn of nutmeg to the crumble. I cooked for about 30 minutes at 400 degrees and then lowered oven temp to 350 for the last 10 minutes to stop topping from getting too dark. Everyone raved about this pie, but next time I think I will add another cup of apples and use only Granny Smiths or add a squirt of lemon juice as I like my apple pie alittle tarter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 710) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States