Apple Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Delicious! Used brown sugar instead. I did coat the apples and then dip in sugar, but I needed to use more flour since it was runny. Next time I will try baking the apples first a little to get rid of the juice and then precede with recipe. Yumm! Can do without the crust as well for an apple crisp with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Crumble was lacking something....even though I added some cinnamon. I also did as other reviewers and added some flour, white and brown sugar with the cinnamon to the apples and tossed together before putting them in the pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving . Tastes good, but way too juicy. I dusted the apples with flour, but the crust was doughy because of all the juice. Don't know if I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This had been my got apple pie recipe for years. I follow recipe to a T and have never had any problems. Key to good pie is good apples sliced thin. I have a peeler corer slicer which does all the work! I also use recipe to make apple pie tarts. I increase recipe to serve 12 then divide in to the tart forms. Awesome! Great for bake sales or when individual servings needed and want a change from cupcakes or brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Absolutely loved this recipe. First time making an apple pie and this turned out fantastic! I made it a few more times and just baked at a lower temperture for a longer time,and sliced the apples thinner which made the filling softer. Great and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
My husband and I decided out of the blue to bake a pie....for the 1st time!! We used pillsbury ready made crust and Cortland apples!! I looked at other reviews and floured the apples and used brown sugar w/ the cinnamon to sprinkle over the apples!!! Also cooked at 375 for 50 min. It was AMAZING.....taste, look and texture!!! I'm soooo impressed with us - thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
My pies are in the oven right now! Hopefully they turn out amazing. The first pie I followed the recipe exactly and my crumble turned out more like a dough :/ the second pie I added brown sugar and extra flour and it came out, well crumblier! cant wait to taste test the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This pie turned out great! I did make a few changes. 1) didn't peel the apples 2) used fuji, honey crisp, and crispy pink apples 3) used 1/4 white and 1/4 golden brown sugar in apple mix 4) did half brown sugar and half white sugar in the 1/3 cup of sugar used in the crumb mix 5) added a 1/4 cup of flour to the apple mix 6) added a large handful of oats to the crumb mix. This pie was amazing and everyone who ate it at our Labor Day shin-dig loved it! I will definitely be making this pie for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I agree with previous raters, add the flour in with the apples and use at least 50% brown sugar. Otherwise, this is a very good recipe. It is a keeper! I like to use a variety of apples with differing amounts of sweetness/tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I had never attempted pie before and this turned out wonderfully! Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Whelan Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 712) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States