Apple Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I liked this recipe. It was simple and fast. It was a little tart. Next time, I will mix the cinnamon and sugar mixture with the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I'm giving it a four since I needed to add some flour to the apple mixture to thicken it up a little and I wish I would have added more apples(maybe 6 or even 7 cups of apples) to make it a thicker pie(as in higher). The taste was great though. I did add some cinnamon to the topping and as per the other comments I used half white and half brown for the sugar with the apples. Also I did melt a small amount of butter to brush the bottom of the pie shell with before adding apples to help the crust crisp up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This pie was excellent, everyone loved it. I did look at the reviews and made the recommended adjustments and it was delicious! Now I know that I will have to make 2 pies next time, the empty pie plate left the family wanting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamamel
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Delicious! I did add 1/4 cup of flour with the sugar mixture and tossed that with the apples versus putting on top of them, as others suggested. The result was a thicker juice versus runny. The crumble mix that goes on top of it all was delicious. I used Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust. I prebaked the crust for 7 minutes at 400 degrees, because I hate when the bottom crust is underbaked and soggy. I covered the edges with a foil crust protector. Once the crust was slightly prebaked, I added the apple/sugar mixture and topped with the crumble. I baked at 375 for 15 minutes to get the apples cooking, and then I turned it down to 350 for another hour. The lower temperature and longer cook time gave my apples enough time to soften without burning my crust. I kept the foil crust protector on during the entire cook time. The top crumble was just starting to brown, and I could see the apples starting to bubble up through the crumble in the center of the pie when the pie was done. At that point, I poked the apples with my knife to make sure they were soft, and they were. I used Haralson apples, which are great for baking. My family really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I tried the suggestion of combining sugar (half white, half brown) and flour with the apple slices. Also used pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon. This was really GOOD! And easy to make using prepared pie crust. I did use more sugar than called for because the apples I had were more of the tart variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
wonderful and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Wilson
Home Town: Acton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Ipswich, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Used the helpful hints from other users and this came out phenomenally! I made my second one this week and it's only Tuesday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This turned out great and I had never made an apple pie before. I got the bottom crust form the store but followed these changes from others (1) added about 1/4 cup of flour to the apple mixture to absorb apple juices; (2) instead of mixing apples with 1/2 cup white sugar, I used 1/4 white sugar and 1/4 brown sugar; (3) in a bowl, mix the apples and sugars and cinnamin before putting it in the pie (as opposed to (4) I cooked it at a lower temperature for an hour and 15 minutes. I brought it to a party and it was gone in 2 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I wish I had read the reviews first!!! One big runny MESS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millersburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Easy, and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 734) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States