Apple Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Made this tonight using a buttery, flaky pie crust. The whole family loved it. I think I will cut the sugar down slightly in the future, its very sweet, but very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Kaye Box

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is the first apple pie I've attempted, and I am entirely happy with the results. I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and switched up the filling/crumb topping a bit (white sugar AND brown sugar, YUM!) and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I make this pie for every get together. It is so easy, and everyone says it is the best apple pie they've ever had! My tip is to half the sugars into half sugar and half brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Delicious!!!!!!!!! Add another star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Great Pie! Used apple pie spice instead of cinnamon. Added 1/4 cup flour to mixture and coated the apple slices with it. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Bear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
My husband talked about this pie for days after eating it. He loved it soooo much! Thanks for a happy hubby~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This recipe is basically my Granny's apple crisp baked in a pie crust, so I had to try it, & it's wonderful. Dredging the apples in flour first is a must. I did use a combo of brown/white sugar also. My twist is adding chopped pecans to the top about 10 minutes before removing from the oven; takes the flavor up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Fourche, South Dakota, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This was the first apple pie I made without using a purchased pie crust and a can of apple pie filling. The family loved it. I did mix the apples with the sugar (1/4 cup each of white and brown sugar, cinnamon 3/4 tsp., allspice, nutmeg and clove 1/4 tsp each. Flour of 1/4 cup was mixed into the apple mixture. I got distracted by my children and forgot to put in the crumb mixture but the kids helped roll out a top crust for the deep dish apple pie we ate. I made it by lunch time and it is almost gone before bedtime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I've made this pie for the last few Thanksgivings, and my family loves it! I, too, used 1/2 brown sugar and mixed the apples with the flour/sugar mixture before putting in the pie plate. I also sprinkle cinnamon over the layers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This pie was absolutely delicious. My mother and husband loved it. I did, however make a few changes. I added 1teaspoon of Apple Pie Spice to the cinnamon mixture. I dotted 2 tablespoons of butter over the pie after the apples were covered. (This made the pie taste richer.) I used 1/2 cup of packed brown sugar and 1/2 cup of flour to make the crumble, I also lightly browned the crust before putting in the apple pie mixture. This kept the pie crust from being soggy, (This was a tip from my Mom.) I am going to try making this pie with Splenda and Splenda Brown Sugar next time. Pooh Bear
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 734) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States