Apple Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Four stars for simplicity - I like to add more things like spices, a bit of butter to the apples, and I followed what others said, and doctored it up to my liking. The crumble topping was fab! My dad said it was, "exceptional!" I used basic flaky crust, too. Turned out great. I precooked the apples a bit because my people don't like any crunch to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Very good. Quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
One of my favorite pies to make is a French apple pie. When I saw this recipe it looked like a simpler version of that. I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I didn't care for is the bottom was kind of liquidy, making it a little difficult to get the slices to hold shape, and it was a quite a bit sweeter than the one I usually make from an old Betty Crocker cookbook. I think this pie would probably be best with a homemade crust, but I wanted to use a deep dish pie crust though I had in the freezer. I will stick with my stand by recipe, and hopefully this will all be eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
yum - cook time was perfect - i used granny smith and made the recipe as is - was perfect amount of sweetness - the next time i added more cinnamon/allspice and jazzed up my topping a bit - delicious and EASY as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Rod loves. easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Dawn
Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I loved it, but others found it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Fantastic recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moxie & mirth
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Easy, delicious. I halved the sugar in the apple mixture because I had sweeter apples to use (and used brown sugar for added flavor), and I mixed in a little flour and cornstarch because I like thick gooeyness in my apple pies. This was so easy to put together, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I having been using this recipe for a while! This only thing I changed; When slicing apples, reserve them in a bowl of water. When all the apples are sliced, drain the apple and set them back in to the bowl. Mix the cinnamon and sugar into the apples and piece them into the pie shell. At the bottom of the used bowl, you should notice some residue of sugar, cinnamon, and water. Pour this mixture over the apple before the crumble. It makes a delicious glaze! TIP: Brush the shell with melted butter or margarine before putting the apples in. It prevents the shell from becoming soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
My boyfriend and I picked apples to make into a pie. However we realized we had no measuring cups. This was very simple to eyeball and tasted delicious as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 738) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States