Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made this pie last night and it was quick, easy, and delicious. I had all the ingredients at home, except for the pie crust. I didn't add raisins or walnuts, but I must say the lemon was essential, and gave a tang to the pie. I mixed white and brown sugar for the pie mixture, I did sub all spice for the nutmeg, and I should have followed the advice of one of the reviews and doubled the crumb toppings. Great pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Definatly needs a little extra flour all apple pies do especially for granny smith apples...do not use lemon on granny smith a little to tangy...and do double the topping if you like things sweet....great pie WHEN COOLED COMPLETELY...follow the directions and your pie will be AMAZING;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudlersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I used Granny Smith apples. Delicious! My family loved this pie! Definitely will be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Awesome Pie !! Only enhancement I made using another reviewer's idea was that I simmered the raisins on low-med heat in some Godiva Liqueur while preparing the apple filling. It makes the raisins nice and plump while adding a subtle background flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SurvivorGirl
Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This was my very first apple pie I've ever made and it made me a hit! I enjoyed this recipe so much I baked 4 apple pies. I went apple picking with my son so I had a ton of Jonathan Apples. Besides adding a bit more flour to thicken the inside it was perfect. I didn't have the problem of not having enough tipping as others suggested at all. It even fit my 7x11 casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
The pie turned out picture perfect, which never happens for me with pies, so I'm very happy! The crumb topping is very good; I doubled it as others have recommended. The filling (without the raisins, nuts, and lemon juice) is not overly sweet, but if you don't like sweet pie fillings, I would recommend reducing sugar to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Needed a easy, no fuss dessert to use up all the local apples we had picked. This came out very tasty. With some good quality vanilla ice cream its even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This pie was a hit at our house. I omitted the lemon juice, raisins, and walnuts, and used 1/3 Cup of Truvia baking blend instead of sugar. I used Jonagold apples from the orchard. I have made two pies already and plan to make a lot more, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
First homemade apple pie, slicing and coreing, followed recipe exactly. Don't be afraid to get your hands in there and really mix it up. I felt every apple was perfectly coated. The crumb was my first time. I tried it once with butter spread and created a dough decided it was just flour and I should throw away and try again, even googled pics to see how it should look. Second time, still wasn't sure because it was very powdery but said hey it's just butter it's gonna taste good! So I evenly sprinkled it over cook for said time. I was making soup at the time and had left over bacon crumbles, put those on top of the pie as we'll, although just half bc I didn't want to ruin it if back wasn't good. Turns out the whole pie was awesome. Great recipe. Follow portions but mix it up real good or it might get too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Florence, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
The apple pie was great. Easy to make and very tasty. I adjusted the recipe slightly - I put the nutmeg and cinnamon in the topping instead of with the apples. As per the suggestions of several reviewers I doubled the topping (excpet the spices) and the flour. It was not runny at all and we ate it warm. My daughters don't even like pie (or cake for that matter) really liked it. I used Paula Red apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 592) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States