Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Very Easy and so tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parsippany, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This turned out well, but the crumbs ended up pretty flat and powdery. I think next time I'll melt the butter rather than just cutting it in. Otherwise, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I made this pie for Thanksgiving. It was delicious and a big hit with everyone. I used Winesap apples which have a great taste and, although they soften in cooking, they hold their shape and don't become mush; they're great for baking. I didn't use raisins or nuts (don't like raisins and have folks with nut allergies). I made a few alterations - doubled the cinnamon/nutmeg and increased the butter for the crumb topping to 5 Tblsp. Also, I mixed into the pie filling 2 Tblsp of instant tapioca, and let it stand for 15 mins before baking. I had no problems with the pie being watery/runny. Everyone was asking me for this recipe! Best apple pie I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out great. I used a butter based pie crust made with gluten free flours. For the filing I only used 1/2 cup of sugar, and increased the nutmeg and cinnamon amount, and added a tiny amount a ground ginger. I did the same for the toppping because I really like those flavors to be strong. Dark brown sugar worked great on top and I left it in my grandmother's oven to keep it warm after I baked it. I would highly suggest serving it warm like that with some vanilla ice cream. It was really yummy and has the classic apple pie flavor that I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made this recipe tonight. I typically use jonathon's in my apple pie but I was looking for something different. After reading many of the reviews, I used 3 Jonagold's and 3 granny smith's. Excellent choice! I also increased the flour from 2 TBSP to 4 TBSP so that it wouldn't be too runny and it turned out perfectly. Probably the only thing was that my topping looked a little sloppy and not great for presentation (not sure if I did something wrong or maybe this is how everyone's looks)....but boy did the whole thing taste good!!! Really good! We LOVED it! And I did use the raisins and walnuts. Added great flavor and texture. This recipe is a keeper! And thank you to the other people who shared their helpful reviews and tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I have made this recipe all the time because it is soooo good! It even won an award at church!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eM_Joy
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
wow! i really loved this pie. thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bratislava, Bratislavský Kraj, Slovakia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Oooh, seriously good pie! My trick for really good apple pie (whichever recipe I use) is to mix up the apples in the filling. I use at least two, usually three, different types of apples in the pie. (Granny smith, macintosh, rome, gala, etc.) Don't be afraid to experiment with your apple selection. I have had great success with almost all apples that have even a hint of tart to them. I kept pretty close to the actual recipe with three exceptions... I never use lemon juice on my apples (I just don't like the underlying taste of it in my pies), I did make a bit more topping, and I always use corn starch, not flour to thicken my pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ARINA25
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Amazing apple crumb pie. I added the walnuts to the crust and let it sit for a half hour before cutting it. Not runny at all and the walnuts in the crust were fantastic! No raisins. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This recipe was wonderful!! I was looking for a pie recipe with a crumble toping and came across this one. I thought it was the best apple pie I've ever had. I made two pies. I had read some of the comments about there not being enough crumble topping so I made 1 and a 1/2 recipes of topping and it was perfect for the 2 pies I made. I had also read that someone thought the pie was kind of soupy so I added an extra tablespoon of flour to the dry ingredients that get poured over the apples. This recipe is definitely going into my favorites and I thought it was so good that i'm making plates of pie to take to the neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 555) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States