Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
What a fabulous work of art!!! Easy to make and was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This turned out wonderful. I didn't change it much, other than increasing the amount of flour from 2 Tbsp to 3 Tbsp and adding a half a Tbsp of cornstarch to ensure proper thickness as based on other reviews. I also sprinkled a bit of extra cinnamon into the crumb topping and was glad I did. Would make again. Thanks Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mtbeau
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I don't like apple pie. Fortunately, this isn't pie, it's heaven! I had never made a fruit pie before, but the gf's parents wanted an apple pie for Thanksgiving, so I gave it a shot. Left out the raisins and traded the store bought crust for a nice buttery home made crust. 1/2 and 1/2 Braeburn and Yellow Delicious Apples gave a nice combo of flavor, texture, and color(left the skin on.) Held good and firm but still melts in the mouth. Making again tomorrow for Christmas, but this time for my parents. mmmmmmmmm can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I've never made a homemade pie before so I wasn't sure how it would turn out. But it was delicious. I have no doubt in my mind that ill use this recipe again. In fact, Ill probably right it down just in case allrecipes vanishes. I wouldn't want to lose it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Made this tonight and it was wonderful! I did double the flour on the apples. I also doubled the crumb topping but I had some left over. I think doing the topping x1.5 would work better. I omitted the lemon/raisins/nut, which were all optional. I used half Granny Smith and half Pink Ladies. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Wow! This recipe really lives up to it's ratings. I make apple pie every year for Thanksgiving because my mom's thing is pumpkin. And haven't gotten it quite right until this year. I was excited to try this because I find a double crust to be too decadent after the meal. I used the pie crust recipe from How To Cook Everything by Mark Bittman. Then I used 7 granny smith apples, upped the flour (to be mixed with apples) to 1/4 cup. I found the amount of crumb topping to be perfect. I baked it 10 extra minutes because when I went to take it out, the juices still looked pretty liquidy and another 10 minutes did the trick- it was not watery whatsoever. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
made this for Thanksgiving today.I used splenda for the white sugar. I doubled the topping and used 1/2 wheat flour and 1/2 white flour. made this into 2 pies w/2 different shells. Not watery in any way. Husband said it was wonderful and I love it because it tasted great and it was much healthier than many other pies..Yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This review is for the crumb topping only; I used a pre-made crust, and my home canned pie filling. I added 1/4 cup of quick oats and, with that addition, there was plenty of topping for the pie. In fact, I couldn't have fit more on if I tried. It's a delicious and easy recipe with less butter used than other recipes I've seen, which is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Does.anyone know if you make this pie the night.before eating it ifit will still be good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Great dish. Keona added villian nutmeg, cinnimon, allspecie. great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States