Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was one tasty pie! The only changes I made were in some of the spices (I used ginger, allspice, cinnamon and nutmeg,) I added a little cinnamon to the topping, and used an addition 1 Tblsp of butter in the topping. I have made this twice and it has been a hit both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pateachoux

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My boyfriend absolutely raved over this pie. We used granny smith apples and gluten-free flour and pie crust. The taste and consistency were perfect. I left it in about 5 minutes longer than specified in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prparks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Very Easy and so tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parsippany, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This turned out well, but the crumbs ended up pretty flat and powdery. I think next time I'll melt the butter rather than just cutting it in. Otherwise, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I made this pie for Thanksgiving. It was delicious and a big hit with everyone. I used Winesap apples which have a great taste and, although they soften in cooking, they hold their shape and don't become mush; they're great for baking. I didn't use raisins or nuts (don't like raisins and have folks with nut allergies). I made a few alterations - doubled the cinnamon/nutmeg and increased the butter for the crumb topping to 5 Tblsp. Also, I mixed into the pie filling 2 Tblsp of instant tapioca, and let it stand for 15 mins before baking. I had no problems with the pie being watery/runny. Everyone was asking me for this recipe! Best apple pie I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out great. I used a butter based pie crust made with gluten free flours. For the filing I only used 1/2 cup of sugar, and increased the nutmeg and cinnamon amount, and added a tiny amount a ground ginger. I did the same for the toppping because I really like those flavors to be strong. Dark brown sugar worked great on top and I left it in my grandmother's oven to keep it warm after I baked it. I would highly suggest serving it warm like that with some vanilla ice cream. It was really yummy and has the classic apple pie flavor that I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made this recipe tonight. I typically use jonathon's in my apple pie but I was looking for something different. After reading many of the reviews, I used 3 Jonagold's and 3 granny smith's. Excellent choice! I also increased the flour from 2 TBSP to 4 TBSP so that it wouldn't be too runny and it turned out perfectly. Probably the only thing was that my topping looked a little sloppy and not great for presentation (not sure if I did something wrong or maybe this is how everyone's looks)....but boy did the whole thing taste good!!! Really good! We LOVED it! And I did use the raisins and walnuts. Added great flavor and texture. This recipe is a keeper! And thank you to the other people who shared their helpful reviews and tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I have made this recipe all the time because it is soooo good! It even won an award at church!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eM_Joy
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
wow! i really loved this pie. thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bratislava, Bratislavský Kraj, Slovakia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Oooh, seriously good pie! My trick for really good apple pie (whichever recipe I use) is to mix up the apples in the filling. I use at least two, usually three, different types of apples in the pie. (Granny smith, macintosh, rome, gala, etc.) Don't be afraid to experiment with your apple selection. I have had great success with almost all apples that have even a hint of tart to them. I kept pretty close to the actual recipe with three exceptions... I never use lemon juice on my apples (I just don't like the underlying taste of it in my pies), I did make a bit more topping, and I always use corn starch, not flour to thicken my pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States