Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My boyfriend absolutely raved over this pie. We used granny smith apples and gluten-free flour and pie crust. The taste and consistency were perfect. I left it in about 5 minutes longer than specified in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prparks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Very Easy and so tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Setola Depner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parsippany, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This turned out well, but the crumbs ended up pretty flat and powdery. I think next time I'll melt the butter rather than just cutting it in. Otherwise, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I made this pie for Thanksgiving. It was delicious and a big hit with everyone. I used Winesap apples which have a great taste and, although they soften in cooking, they hold their shape and don't become mush; they're great for baking. I didn't use raisins or nuts (don't like raisins and have folks with nut allergies). I made a few alterations - doubled the cinnamon/nutmeg and increased the butter for the crumb topping to 5 Tblsp. Also, I mixed into the pie filling 2 Tblsp of instant tapioca, and let it stand for 15 mins before baking. I had no problems with the pie being watery/runny. Everyone was asking me for this recipe! Best apple pie I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out great. I used a butter based pie crust made with gluten free flours. For the filing I only used 1/2 cup of sugar, and increased the nutmeg and cinnamon amount, and added a tiny amount a ground ginger. I did the same for the toppping because I really like those flavors to be strong. Dark brown sugar worked great on top and I left it in my grandmother's oven to keep it warm after I baked it. I would highly suggest serving it warm like that with some vanilla ice cream. It was really yummy and has the classic apple pie flavor that I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made this recipe tonight. I typically use jonathon's in my apple pie but I was looking for something different. After reading many of the reviews, I used 3 Jonagold's and 3 granny smith's. Excellent choice! I also increased the flour from 2 TBSP to 4 TBSP so that it wouldn't be too runny and it turned out perfectly. Probably the only thing was that my topping looked a little sloppy and not great for presentation (not sure if I did something wrong or maybe this is how everyone's looks)....but boy did the whole thing taste good!!! Really good! We LOVED it! And I did use the raisins and walnuts. Added great flavor and texture. This recipe is a keeper! And thank you to the other people who shared their helpful reviews and tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I have made this recipe all the time because it is soooo good! It even won an award at church!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eM_Joy
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
wow! i really loved this pie. thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bratislava, Bratislavský Kraj, Slovakia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Oooh, seriously good pie! My trick for really good apple pie (whichever recipe I use) is to mix up the apples in the filling. I use at least two, usually three, different types of apples in the pie. (Granny smith, macintosh, rome, gala, etc.) Don't be afraid to experiment with your apple selection. I have had great success with almost all apples that have even a hint of tart to them. I kept pretty close to the actual recipe with three exceptions... I never use lemon juice on my apples (I just don't like the underlying taste of it in my pies), I did make a bit more topping, and I always use corn starch, not flour to thicken my pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ARINA25
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Amazing apple crumb pie. I added the walnuts to the crust and let it sit for a half hour before cutting it. Not runny at all and the walnuts in the crust were fantastic! No raisins. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States