Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was incredible! The entire family loved it and it was actually the only pie that was completely gone at the end of the day! The only thing I changed was to double the amount of crumb topping, I just didn't think it was enough, it didn't cover the entire top of the pie. We warmed each slice in the microwave for 35 seconds and topped with Cool Whip--excellent!! My other apple pie recipes will be deleted from my recipe box!!! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SONIC65
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Beautiful and excellent pie! I did (accidentally) increase the butter in the crumb topping! I also, based on other reviews, increase the flour in the filling mix to eliminate runniness. I had made this pie for a friend, but my dear husband refused to let it leave the house! Smelled so wonderful he could not resist. Cool completely before slicing! I know it is hard...you can also zap it in the microwave to serve with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONIC65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This is definitely in the top five of pies that I have ever eaten. Needless to say, that says a lot. For two pies, I used six granny smith apples, or seven with light snacking. I also double the crumb mixture. The crumb mixture tastes even better with ground cloves, allspice, and nutmeg. mmm...nutmeg This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
This recipe was very easy and I liked everything about it except that it was very very watery when I sliced it. I had baked it as directed just before the meal and it cooled for about an hour and a half and was still warm when I served it. I'm pretty sure I didn't forget to put the flour into the filling (but it's possible). Later, after all the guests were gone, I picked up the pie plate and the juices had thickened upon standing. So I think I may have to let it cool completely before serving next time, and maybe bake it uncovered longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I just had a couple of forkfuls of this so that I could review the recipe and I could quite possibly be in dessert heaven right now. This is one of the best apple pies I've tried in some time. I don't normally make a crumb topped pie so this was a nice departure. Because hubs and I wouldn't be able to eat a whole pie before the topping became soggy, I scaled this down to three servings to make two individual pies in shallow, round ramekins. I used "Butter Flaky Pie Crust," also from this site. I skipped the raisins and nuts, and subbed an equal amount of cinnamon for the nutmeg, which I'm not a fan of. The apples are perfectly sweetened and spiced (use more or less depending on the sweetness or tartness of your apples) with a perfect amount of rich, cinnamony syrup - just enough to mix with the apples. The crumb topping is light and "crumbly," just as it's supposed to be (a recent baking experience showed me that's not always the case). And just the right amount of topping too. Not only is this one of the better recipes I've tried, it's also one of the easiest with no top crust! This would make a terrific presentation for a dinner get-together, as these individual little pies are very charming. I definitely have another favorite with this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This pie makes a beautiful presentation. I followed the recipe exactly and added the optional raisins and nuts. I followed other reviews and doubled the topping. I think next time I will NOT double the topping because this pie was WAY TOO SWEET. It was good, but too sweet for an apple pie. The Cool Whip on top sort of saved it, but I'll know better for next time.........UPDATE: The next day the pie was incredible. I don't know what happened. I still think doubling the topping was a mistake, but boy was it good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
I have to say this was one of the best Apple Pies i've had in a very long time. I used granny smith apples, and did cut down on the sugar and it was absolutely delicious. My husband raved about it! I found the amount of crumb adequate for the recipe, and I used a lot of apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I must admit when I saw all the great reviews about thus recipe I could not wait to make it for my family. I have been baking for a very long time so I am very famialiar with how to make pies. This recipe was just plain awful. I followed the directions completly. It looked great when it came out of the oven. I don't what could have happened. My husband said it was the worst pie I have ever made. So this will not be a tradition in my house. Maybe everyone has different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wildwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Williamstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
This was a delicious pie! I would use a little less sugar depending on the apples you use. I used cortland apples. Amaretto soaked raisins also added a little extra zing to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I would like to add my two cents to the making of this pie and hope the suggestions I offer will be helpful. As far as the "watery" aspect of the filling, I believe the type of apples that are used could be the issue. I always use a combo of Jonagold and Granny Smith. The texture remains firm and I don't ever have the watery problem some of the posters state. Also, I use a combo of brown and white sugars in the filling. It imparts a richer flavor to the filling. Now , as far as the crumb topping is concerned, it is definitely not enough for my taste---I like a pie with a thick crumb topping and what I do is I use one and one third cups flour,one tsp. cinnammon 1/4tsp nutmeg and 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/3 cup white sugar. Mix this with one stick of unsalted room temp. butter. I just use my hands to blend all the ingredients and you will have the best crumb topping ever! When the pie is cooled down, I sprinkle powdered sugar over the top. I have never had anything but raves for this pie and recipe. I hope all of you try it. Bake at 424 degrees for twenty minutes and lower to 350 degrees for 45 to 50 minutes. I also use this crumb topping on my blueberry pie as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Indian Trail, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States