Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made this recipe tonight. I typically use jonathon's in my apple pie but I was looking for something different. After reading many of the reviews, I used 3 Jonagold's and 3 granny smith's. Excellent choice! I also increased the flour from 2 TBSP to 4 TBSP so that it wouldn't be too runny and it turned out perfectly. Probably the only thing was that my topping looked a little sloppy and not great for presentation (not sure if I did something wrong or maybe this is how everyone's looks)....but boy did the whole thing taste good!!! Really good! We LOVED it! And I did use the raisins and walnuts. Added great flavor and texture. This recipe is a keeper! And thank you to the other people who shared their helpful reviews and tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I have made this recipe all the time because it is soooo good! It even won an award at church!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eM_Joy
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
wow! i really loved this pie. thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bratislava, Bratislavský Kraj, Slovakia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Oooh, seriously good pie! My trick for really good apple pie (whichever recipe I use) is to mix up the apples in the filling. I use at least two, usually three, different types of apples in the pie. (Granny smith, macintosh, rome, gala, etc.) Don't be afraid to experiment with your apple selection. I have had great success with almost all apples that have even a hint of tart to them. I kept pretty close to the actual recipe with three exceptions... I never use lemon juice on my apples (I just don't like the underlying taste of it in my pies), I did make a bit more topping, and I always use corn starch, not flour to thicken my pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ARINA25
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Amazing apple crumb pie. I added the walnuts to the crust and let it sit for a half hour before cutting it. Not runny at all and the walnuts in the crust were fantastic! No raisins. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This recipe was wonderful!! I was looking for a pie recipe with a crumble toping and came across this one. I thought it was the best apple pie I've ever had. I made two pies. I had read some of the comments about there not being enough crumble topping so I made 1 and a 1/2 recipes of topping and it was perfect for the 2 pies I made. I had also read that someone thought the pie was kind of soupy so I added an extra tablespoon of flour to the dry ingredients that get poured over the apples. This recipe is definitely going into my favorites and I thought it was so good that i'm making plates of pie to take to the neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Great recipe. Love it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Swiatek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Love it! My first time making any apple pie and this recipe made me look like I have been making apple pies for years, the only thing I would do differently is double up on the crumb topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Delicious! I didn't add any optional stuff, and I didn't have nutmeg, so I doubled the cinnamon. Amazing, everyone loved it and the house smelled great. I also doubled the amount of crumb topping, as per previous comments, but I had tons left over, so I'm not entirely sure if it was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I was comparing this recipe and another as I made my pie, so my review here is mostly for the filling. It's very good, but too sweet for my taste. Next time I'll cut the sugar to 1/2 cup (which is what the other recipe used). I did like that the topping used brown sugar; I used the 1/2 cup packed brown sugar with 3/4 cup flour and 5 tablespoons butter, plus a few sprinkles of nutmeg, allspice, and ground cloves as another reviewer recommended. I had slightly more topping than I needed, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 561) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States