Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This pie was a hit at our house. I omitted the lemon juice, raisins, and walnuts, and used 1/3 Cup of Truvia baking blend instead of sugar. I used Jonagold apples from the orchard. I have made two pies already and plan to make a lot more, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
First homemade apple pie, slicing and coreing, followed recipe exactly. Don't be afraid to get your hands in there and really mix it up. I felt every apple was perfectly coated. The crumb was my first time. I tried it once with butter spread and created a dough decided it was just flour and I should throw away and try again, even googled pics to see how it should look. Second time, still wasn't sure because it was very powdery but said hey it's just butter it's gonna taste good! So I evenly sprinkled it over cook for said time. I was making soup at the time and had left over bacon crumbles, put those on top of the pie as we'll, although just half bc I didn't want to ruin it if back wasn't good. Turns out the whole pie was awesome. Great recipe. Follow portions but mix it up real good or it might get too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
The apple pie was great. Easy to make and very tasty. I adjusted the recipe slightly - I put the nutmeg and cinnamon in the topping instead of with the apples. As per the suggestions of several reviewers I doubled the topping (excpet the spices) and the flour. It was not runny at all and we ate it warm. My daughters don't even like pie (or cake for that matter) really liked it. I used Paula Red apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This is the recipe from Better Homes and Gardens. I have been making this recipe for years with excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
MMMMMM, just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Love this quick and easy recipe. The only thing I did different was to top it with the other pie shell and top THAT with the streusel topping. I didn't add nuts or raisins because I like the old-fashioned apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I made this pie and my family loved it. It was an easy recipe and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I make this every year because my family demands it! Amazingly good! I just double the amount for the crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This pie is easy and simple to make. It was incredible! I didn't use the nutmeg because I didn't have any, but it still turned out incredible without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
The best apple pie I've ever eaten. Apple pie is not my favorite, but this was outstanding. I followed the direction exactly, except I made extra crumb topping and did opt to add the raisins and the walnuts. I think the raisins made the pie super sweet, but with some cold vanilla ice cream it balanced it out. Wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 555) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States